Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Anvil Chorus -The Killing Sun lp/7″ [white splatter]


In stock

SKU: LP 500br Categories: , , Tags: ,


White and black splatter vinyl with 4-page insert and a bonus vinyl single. Limited 350 copies

Nearly 3 decades after the group’s formation and a couple years after their recent reformation, this legendary underground San Francisco progressive heavy metal band unleashes their first full length debut album. Consisting solely of newly recorded material from their early 80s heyday, it’s destined to be the classic album everyone has long awaited from this magical group. Led by guitarist Thaen Rasmussen and vocalist/bassist Aaron Zimpel (who have also had roles in various bands such as Heathen, Metal Church, Vicious Rumors, Release and Control), the integrity of their original sound is fully maintained and should please anyone who has followed the band through the years or owned any of their heavily circulated demo tapes. Anvil Chorus. The name itself suggests something a little more than the typical hard rock band; something intelligent and complex, even sophisticated — and they were. Anvil Chorus made a thinking man’s metal. There was such a thing and it wasn’t thought of as a style, just good music that put some structure and challenge into a normally repetitive form. Clearly influenced by the prevailing titans of progressive rock and heavy metal of the day, Anvil Chorus was a fount of unique inspirations. A group of talented individuals, half of them multi-instrumentalists and all of them bring to the table a creative flair. The composition, arrangement and melodic skills enjoyed a harmonic and contrapuntal implementation that was delivered crushingly hugely. The sound was Big with a capital B. The guitar harmonies, keyboard wizardry and bottled-lightning rhythm section were a powerful collision. Heavy riffs, catchy melodies, belting vocals and a refined aesthetic completed the signature sound; Anvil Chorus, in the early 1980s, rightly earned a buzz of their own for their unique and exquisite style, which to this day continues to be regarded as significant and influential.

Track listing:
1. Deadly Weapons
2. Red Skies
3. Phase to Phase
4. Man Made Machines
5. After Time
6. Death of a Dream
7. The Blade
8. European
9. Such Is Life
10. Once Again

Vinyl single track listing:
1. Blue Flames
2. Tales

Additional information


High Roller

Catalogue Number

Release Year