Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Atrocity (ger) -Willenskraft pic disc


Out of stock

Categories: , ,


Reduced price due to vinyl being vg

Rare original and since long out of print picture disc. Limited 500 copies

“Willenskraft” sees Atrocity mix quite many musical influences and styles. Even if this is an improvement over “Blut”, the nu metal element is sadly still present in the form of tracks such as “Scorched Breath” and “We Are Degeneration” (a nu/death metal hybrid in the vein of some tracks from the “Blut” album). Also many other tracks contain some nu metal influences. Alex’s vocals sound pretty brutal at times but for the most part his vocals have a dry, almost hardcore like touch to them. Among the better tracks are “Deliverance” and the title track, which are more in the vein of “Demanufacture” and ”Obsolete” era Fear Factory. On “Love is Dead” the band enters goth metal mode and pulls off a lightweight Type O Negative rip-off (including some deep clean vocals a’la Peter Steele). The first half of “Seal of Secrecy” is very mellow (clean guitars and clean vocals) and laidback. It feels like the band are just jamming away peacefully without any intention of going heavy. Then, at 4:09, heavy guitars kick in and the vocals become screamy. The whole mood of the song suddenly changes from laidback and “sunny” to dark and desperate. “For Ever And A Day” does an OK job of combining Fear Factory type choppy riffing with good sad guitar melodies. It goes without saying that in my opinion the best tracks are the most brutal ones: “Blood-Stained Prophecy”, “Down Below” and “The Hunt”. “Willenskraft” adequately represents a former death metal band keeping up with the times in the mid 90s. There’s something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue. The problem is that Atrocity can’t reach the level of some of the bands that they’ve clearly been influenced by. If you like a hybrid of different metal styles in one album, then “Willenskraft” might appeal to you a lot.

Track listing:
1. Intro
2. Scorching Breath
3. Deliverance
4. Blood Stained Prophecy
5. Love Is Dead
6. We Are Degeneration
7. Willenskraft
8. For Ever and a Day
9. Seal of Secrecy
10. Down Below
11. The Hunt

Additional information


Massacre records

Catalogue Number

Release Year