Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Avantasia -The Metal Opera Part 2 dlp [gold]


In stock

SKU: LP 503k Categories: , , Tag:


Hong Kong version on gold vinyl with gatefold cover. Limited 100 copies

Eagerly anticipated by power metal audiences who embraced Tobias Sammet’s first Avantasia project, the aptly titled The Metal Opera, Pt. 2 essentially offers more of the same, in sound, style, and personnel. Michael Kiske (ex-Helloween) gets credit for his appearance this time out, following his mystery cameo as “Ernie” on the first record, and a number of the featured vocalists from Pt. 1 reprise their characters on the second installment; new faces include Bob Catley (Magnum) and Oliver Hartmann (At Vance). The music is not a great leap forward; it’s simply more state-of-the-art power metal, with the same catchy riffs, larger than life melodies, and complex, orchestration-heavy arrangements. Some might find it a bit less thrashy than its predecessor, but overall the differences are negligible. Sammet’s epic storytelling ambitions have left him with more than enough material to keep the narrative going, and the ending is open enough to allow for a sequel if he chose. At times, The Metal Opera, Pt. 2 seems as if Sammet had to rush to complete the record; its release had to be delayed, and a few parts feel a tad underwritten. But by and large, power metal fans who enjoyed the first installment — and weren’t expecting a drastic progression — will find Pt. 2 a worthy sequel that’s still head and shoulders above much of the European power metal pack.

Track listing:
1. The Seven Angels
2. No Return
3. The Looking Glass
4. In Quest For
5. The Final Sacrifice
6. Neverland
7. Anywhere
8. Chalice Of Agony
9. Memory
10. Into The Unknown

Track 1: Andre Matos, David DeFeis, Kai Hansen, Michael Kiske, Oliver Hartmann,
Rob Rock, Timo Tolkki (vocals & guitar)
Track 2: Andre Matos, Michael Kiske
Tracks 3 & 4: Bob Catley
Track 5: David DeFeis
Track 6: Rob Rock
Track 8: Andre Matos, Kai Hansen
Track 9: Ralf Zdiarstek
Track 10: Sharon Den Adel, Timo Tolkki (guitar), Eric Singer (drums), Norman
Meiritz (rhythm guitar)

Additional information


AFM Records

Catalogue Number

AFM 060-16CN

Release Year