Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Blind Guardian -Somewhere Far Beyond cd


Out of stock

SKU: cd 355a Categories: , ,


1992 Dutch Virgin/Emi Records pressing

Somewhere Far Beyond has all the elements of classic Blind Guardian: fantasy and horror-story tracks inspired by the likes of J.R.R. Tolkein and Stephen King; speedy double-bass riffing; and searing melodic vocals punctuated by anthemic group choruses. Bassist/Vocalist Hansi Kursch seems to possess several different voices, which serves his band’s dynamic purposes well. From regal tales of dragon warfare (“The Bard’s Song — The Hobbit,”) to minstrel ballads (“The Bard’s Song — In the Forest,”) to Blind Guardian’s trademark early-’90s speed metal matrix of hyper riffs and melodic multi-voiced choruses (“Journey Through the Dark,” “Ashes to Ashes,” and “Somewhere Far Beyond,”) every pompous, excessive base is covered. Practically unknown in America, Blind Guardian had grown into quite a formidable metal outfit by the time of this 1992 release. The coming worldwide revival of ’80s-influenced European metal certainly did their bourgeoning career no harm and the group began penetrating the U.S. market. This delighted many old-school metal fans tired of the fake anger, pasty hip-hop posturing and overall uniformity of American “hard” music. With plenty of great performances, challenging material, and some wicked guitar playing, Somewhere Far Beyond is a cornerstone of Blind Guardian’s sizable reputation.

Track listing:
1. Time What Is Time
2. Journey Through The Dark
3. Black Chamber
4. Theatre Of Pain
5. The Quest For Tanelorn
6. Ashes To Ashes
7. The bards Song: In The Forest
8. The bards Song: The Hobbit
9. The pipers Calling
10. Somewhere Far Beyond
11. Spread Your Wings-Queen cover
12. Trial By Fire-Satan cover
13. Theatre Of Pain-classic version

Additional information


Virgin Records / EMI Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number

0777 7 86831 2 4