Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Bruce Dickinson ‎–Balls To Picasso dcd


In stock

SKU: cd 40j Categories: , , Tag:


Remastered and expanded edition in jewelcase with bonus cd

Immediately following his departure from metal legends Iron Maiden, singer and jack of all trades Bruce Dickinson signed a new deal stateside to Mercury Records and went to work on his second solo effort. His Polygram debut, Balls to Picasso, is somewhat of a disappointment and, for the most part, an ill-conceived project. Eager to get away from the classic galloping we’ll-march-to-the-war Maiden sound, the singer joins forces with a band by the name of Tribe of Gypsies. The band (which managed to generate quite a buzz on its own but alas never found a home for itself) features Roy Z, Dickinson’s chief collaborator/songwriting partner for this album. Eddie jokes aside, if Dickinson wanted to get away from the classic Iron Maiden sound, he sure does a good job on this album. Unfortunately, the singer fails to come up with anything truly groundbreaking or even interesting here (save for the album closer, “Tears of a Dragon” which is an absolutely magnificent track. Maybe it’s the cut’s familiar Iron Maiden aesthetic, or perhaps it’s Dickinson’s wonderful vocal delivery. Who really knows. But what is known is that it’s by far the album’s best song. Superficially, it threads typical Dickinson territory. However, upon closer inspection, it’s obvious that with lyrics like ‘where I was, I had wings that couldn’t fly’, there’s no love lost between the singer and his former bandmates. It’s clear that the singer makes a clear open and shut case for his need to ‘release the wave and let it wash over me’ as he sings about unburdening himself from the artistically stifling direction of his previous outfit. Looking back, the singer made very few new friends with this release and would go on to record far superior solo records like Accident of Birth and The Chemical Wedding. These last two records in particular would see the singer receive worldwide press accolades and a warm reception from some old-school Maiden fans. Again, deservedly and predictably, the album’s closer, which musically veers into familiar Maiden territory, is probably what the singer’s fans expected all along.

Track listing:
1. Cyclops
2. Hell No
3. Gods Of War
4. 1000 Points Of Light
5. Laughing In The Hiding Bush
6. Change Of Heart
7. Shoot All The Clowns
8. Fire
9. Sacred Cowboys
10. Tears Of The Dragon
11. Fire Child
12. Elvis Has Left The Building
13. The Breeding House
14. No Way Out… To Be Continued
15. Tears Of The Dragon-acoustic chillout
16. Winds Of Change
17. Spirit Of Joy
18. Over And Out
19. Shoot All The Clowns-extended remix
20. Laughing In The Hiding Bush-live
21. The Post Alternative Seattle Fall Out-live
22. Shoot All The Clowns-remix
23. Tibet
24. Tears Of The Dragon (First Bit, Long Bit, Last Bit)
25. Cadillac Gas Mask
26. No Way Out… Continued

Additional information


BMG Records / Sanctuary Records

Catalogue Number