Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Carcass -Choice Cuts dlp


Out of stock


Double album on black vinyls with gatefold cover and lyric insert

This compilation recollects material from all their albums, from their uncompromising debut Reek of putrefaction to their latest controversial effort Swansong. But the main dishes here are the legendary Peel Sessions, rare and hard to find separately. The Peel Sessions are two sessions of live recordings in John Peel’s radio Show in Great Britain back in the late 80s and beginning of the 90s. Carcass most acclaimed songs are featured in this album. All time classics such as Exhume to consume, Corporeal jigsore quandary, Heartwork or Buried dreams, obvious choices when it comes to Carcass favorites. Another positive thing is the booklet and album cover. Returning to their great old times, where everything was bizarre, obscene and grotesque. You can see their old logo in the front cover, and drummer Ken Owen slaughtering his buddies (with some kind of kitchen knife or machete) that are laying down, and whose spilled blood in the wall spell Choice cuts. Yummy! Very primitive, but somehow showing the band’s sense of humour since the beginning. Inside the booklet you have a collage of photos, backstage passes, concert tickets (like the ones from the famous Gods of grind tour with Entombed, Cathedral and Confessor), magazine articles, along with an interview with Ken Owen, whom, apparently, has been the mastermind behind this compilation. He talks about everything past present and future, the scene then and today, memories, anecdotes (how he met Jeff and Bill). A very interesting interview in which carcass story is told, well, answered really, by one who has been a part of it since the very start. Remember that this compilation was supposed to be released a while ago, but it was suspended due to Ken Owen suffering a brain haemorrage and spending a couple of years in the hospital and now being in the recovery stage. Ken was feeling much better and Choice cuts now sees the light of day. The Peel Sessions above mentioned suffered from a bad production, but they’re great anyways, especially the second one, recorded an year later with an improved sound quality. Choice Cuts has everything that all fans will appreciate, reminding you the old times. Perhaps, the last legacy of one of the greatest death metal bands, whose memory and influence will live on.
Track listing:
1. Genital Grinder
2. Maggot Colony
3. Exhume To Consume
4. Swarming Vulgar Mass Of Infected Virulency
5. Tools Of The Trade
6. Corporal Jigsore Quandary
7. Incarnated Solvent Abuse
8. Buried Dreams
9. No Love Lost
10. Heartwork
11. Keep On Rotting In The Free World
12. R**k The Vote
13. This Is Your Life

Peel Session on Jan. 2, 1989.
14. Crepitating Bowel Erosion
15. Slash Dementia
16. Cadaveric Incubator Of Endoparasites
17. Reek Of Putrefaction

Peel Session on Dec. 16, 1990.
18. Empathological Necroticism
19. Foeticide
20. Fermenting Innards
21. Exhume To Consume

Additional information


Earache Records

Catalogue Number


Release Year