Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Carousel –Round And Round cd


In stock

SKU: cd 78c Categories: , ,


Austin, Texas – In the fall of 1989 guitarist Matt Clark placed an ad in the local alternative mag The Austin Chronicle seeking musicians for a hard rock project. Fellow guitarist Louie Beltran answered the ad and the two quickly bonded over bands like White Lion and Dokken. They began writing songs together, solidified the vision, and set out to find their future bandmates. Next to join the fold was drummer Steve Miller who happened to share a class with Matt at the University of Texas. The band still needed a bass player and lead singer. Both roles were filled when Robert Ferebee entered the picture. They named the band Sky High and started playing shows at a local concert venue called The Back Room. Before long they were playing shows all across Texas. The next step was heading into Austin Recording Studios (A.R.S.) to record their first 3 song demo with producer John Viehweg. On the strength of this demo they were featured in Metal Edge’s Rock on the Rise. They also played the New South Music Festival in Atlanta and one of the first SXSW festivals in 1991. Also appearing at SXSW was a Swedish act who happened to be named Sky High as well. A few days later Matt received a call from Randy California. You may have heard this name when Led Zeppelin was accused of stealing Stairway to Heaven from Randy’s band Spirit. Randy was representing the other Sky High and insisted on a name change or he promised legal action. Wanting to avoid this hassle, the band renamed themselves Carousel soon after. Simultaneously they became a 5 piece with the addition of lead singer Don Howell. Before long they were back at A.R.S. to record a new 4 song demo which once again landed them on the pages of Metal Edge and regional rock press around the United States. This lineup’s final gig was opening for Bang Tango before Louie and Don exited the group. The third and final line-up of Carousel would consist of Matt, Rob, and Steve joined by Matt’s longtime friend, guitarist Jay Haygood. This album features the 4-track demo, unreleased Carousel material and 3-tracks from the early Sky High years. The band would during the years play with acts such as Trixter, Cry Wolf, Saigon Kick, and Pat Travers to name a few. After Carousel fell apart the band members would go on to acts such as Freakhouse and Livin Dark Daze.

Track list:
1. Sweet Surrender
2. 19 And Nervous
3. Remember
4. The Feeling Is Right
5. Kickin And Screamin
6. Tell Me Why
7. Hold Back
8. Waiting
9. Heavin Was Callin
10. Time Stops

Additional information


FnA Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number