Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Cro-Mags -The Age Of Quarrel lp [smokey]


In stock

SKU: LP 547av Categories: , ,


American 2023 re-issue on red smokey vinyl

Cro-Mags from New York City, were among the first bands to fuse hardcore punk with thrash metal and were associated with the birth of a tougher attitude within the hardcore scene in the late 1980s. They were also one of the first hardcore punk bands associated with the Hare Krishna movement. The band was formed by New York punk child prodigy Harley Flanagan and guitarist Parris Mayhew, the Cro-Mags helped define the East Coast hardcore movement with their now legendary debut, Age of Quarrel. Joining Flanagan (bass) and Mayhew (guitars) on Age of Quarrel are vocalist John Bloodclot Joseph, drummer Mackie Jayson, and co-guitarist Doug Holland. Together, these musicians are considered the quintessential Cro-Mags line-up and this is their only recording together. Near record-setting member changes plagued the band and the considerable momentum created by this debut was never capitalized on. Age of Quarrel is loaded with hardcore classics like World Peace, We Gotta Know and Street Justice. On these cuts and throughout the record, Mayhew presents what were at the time cutting-edge post-Motorhead punk/metal riffs, and the entire group execute their roles with passion, dexterity, and extreme focus. It’s practically impossible to understand or appreciate New York hardcore without first spending time listening to Age of Quarrel.

Track listing:
1. We Gotta Know
2. World Peace
3. Show You No Mercy
4. Malfunction
5. Street Justice
6. Survival Of The Streets
7. Seekers Of The Truth
8. Its The Limit
9. Hard Times
10. By Myself
11. Dont Tread On Me
12. Face The Facts
13. Do Unto Others
14. Life Of My Own
15. Signs Of The Times

Additional information


BFD (Bob Frank Entertainment) Record

Release Year

Catalogue Number