Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Dawn Of Oblivion (Tenebre) – The Final Chapter


Out of stock

SKU: cd8ff2e48e17 Category:


Dawn of Oblivion, featuring ex-Tenebre singer Victor Fradera, was formed in Helsingborg, Sweden 1991 by singer/guitarist Victor Fradera and guitarist Per Broberg. After a number of line-up changes the band finally won a Swedish music competition and was rewarded with a studio recording. Dawn of Oblivion signed with Strontium Records in 1994 and recorded their debut album A Fervent Prayer at the Roastinghouse studios in Malmo that was released in September the same year. A Fervent Prayer was very well received by both fans and critics and the band once again went into the Roastinghouse studio to record the White Zombie EP in January 1995. But with no funding from Strontium Records that went bankrupt the EP still remains in the Roastinghouse studio. At this time tensions between Fradera and Broberg finally resulted in the band’s first split-up with Broberg and Rydberg leaving the band. Fradera and Bage recruited American guitarist Jimmy Lee Lou and long time friend Jonas Nilsson on bass. Dawn of Oblivion switched over to MusicArt and started recording the Yorick album in 1996. The album was released in early 1997 and the band went on touring supporting the album. After a couple of successful years the band was on it’s peak when Lou suddenly quit the band to focus on other projects. The band managed to record and release the Haunted EP before Lou left the band. Stefan Rosqvist was recruited to fill in for Lou and the band started writing material for the third album. Mephistos Appelaing was released in 2001. The album was met with mixed reviews as it clearly was a darker and heavier album than their previous releases. The band once again went on touring, but it all came to an end when suddenly drummer Andreas Bage was fired in the middle of the tour when the band was on its way to England for the Whitby Gothic Weekend. The band played a number of gigs in Scandinavia with Peter Wildoer from Darkane filling in for Bage on drums. After writing material for the fourth album the band went on a 8 year long hiatus with the members focusing on different projects. Although the band never made an official farewell, MusicArt released the Ikaros EP and The Final Chapter album in 2009 with songs recorded 2002 and forward. The fans saw this as a goodbye statement from the band and the albums were well received by both fans and critics. Track listing: 1. Neptune Falls 2. City in the Winds 3. Father 4. By Bread Alone 5. Malice 6. Zodiac Mind 7. Behind Closed Doors 8. Nymphs of Persephone 9. Ikaros 10. Falling 11. Ghost of Cain 12. Commando X 13. The Witchking

Additional information



Release Year