Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Dead Horse ‎–Boil(ing) lp [clear splatter]


Out of stock

SKU: Lp 537ai Categories: , ,


Clear with red and black splatter vinyl. Limited 1000 copies with poster, logo sticker and insert

Houston (Texas) based death/thrash/crossover act Dead Horse weren’t exactly a huge success while they were active, but in the 15 years since the band parted ways, the group’s legacy has endured to the point where the band is now more popular and revered than they ever were when they were active. Over the last few years, three members of Dead Horse (guitarists Greg Martin and Scott Sevall and drummer/backing vocalist Ronnie Guyote) teamed up with D.R.I. vocalist Kurt Brecht in Pasadena Napalm Division, who duly released their debut self-titled E.P. last year to fairly positive reviews. Perhaps in part to playing together once again, or simply because enough water had passed under the bridge over the years – either way, Dead Horse have once again been reactivated. Now after the latest rebirth the band and their new label decided it was time to re-release their 1996 album, “Boil(ing)”. The album comprise ex-Force Fed vocalist/bassist Allen ‘Alpo’ Price, Martin, Sevall and Guyote and its the only release to ever emerge from the line-up of the band that exists today. In terms of its place within the Dead Horse discography, Boil(ing) still stands as one of the band’s more experimental and more obscure releases, with Price’s approach on the vocal front (Price replaced Mike Haaga in 1994) and the more thought out song writing style sounding vastly different from the sound many would be familiar with on their first two full-length releases (1989’s Horsecore: An Unrelated Story That’s Time Consuming and 1991’s Peaceful Death and Pretty Flowers). But despite the change in direction and sound, Boil(ing) does have its moments, most notably on the thrash-like opener One Nation, the slower and more technically inclined Reach Around, the menacing and serious My Apology and the short and brutal blast of My Dog the Prophet (one of two tracks the band re-recorded from their independently released Feed Me demo/E.P. from 1994). Those who only have a passing interest in the Houston act, or want to hear what the fuss is all about are advised to probably seek out the band’s full-length efforts before seeking out Boil(ing). But for diehard Dead Horse fans, this re-release is well and truly overdue

Track list:
1. One Nation
2. What A Beautiful Day
3. Reach Around
4. My Apology
5. Eaten By The Grey
6. My Dog The Prophet
7. Someone
8. One Nation
9. What A Beautiful Day
10. Reach Around
11. My Apology
12. Eaten By The Grey
13. My Dog The Prophet
14. Someone

Additional information


Abyss Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number