Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

DevilDriver -The Last Kind Words dlp [splatter]


In stock

SKU: lp 535kk Categories: , , Tag:


Double album on half and half splatter vinyls with gatefold cover

‘The Last Kind Words’ is the third album in Devildrivers four-year existence. Many metal purists have written off Devildriver due to front man Dez Fafara’s nu-metal past (vocalist for Coal Chamber). This album distances the band even further from those unfair comparisons. In a recent metal center interview, Guitarist Mike Spreitzer commented on the group’s style, ‘I would call us more straight-forward metal’. Sprietzer’s statement is for the most part right on the money, but lacks the term ‘modern’. The album is a snap shot of the modern metal scene. Employing the talents of two of the best sound controllers in the business, Jason Suecof (production) and Andy Sneap (mixing), the group has found a polished, professional sound. This is a very solid album and the best offering the band has yet to produce. This is a more post thrash than the band has ever been. There are some odd experimental moments on the album (the keyboards are the end of ‘The Axe Shall Fall’ took me by surprise) but the album is still more cohesive then any past releases. The direction of DevilDriver seems to be more complex and technical and it seems to be the right direction

Track listing:
1. Not All Who Wander Are Lost
2. Clouds Over California
3. Bound By The Moon
4. Horn Of Betrayal
5. These Fighting Words
6. Head On To Heartache (Let Them Rot)
7. Burning Sermon
8. Monsters Of The Deep
9. Tirades Of Truth
10. When Summoned
11. The Axe Shall Fall

Additional information


Echo Records / BMG Records

Catalogue Number

Release Year