Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Dimmu Borgir ‎–Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia pic disc


Out of stock

SKU: LP 507cg Categories: , ,


2021 double picture disc album with gatefold cover. Limited 1000 copies

In spite of straying so far from its black metal roots as to almost seem a completely different band at times, Dimmu Borgir still packs a powerful punch on Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia. New guitarist Galder (formerly of Old Man’s Child) nicely infuses more traditional metallic mannerisms, but the addition of drummer Nicholas Barker (Cradle of Filth and Lock Up) is critical. His always-punishing percussive prowess allows the seamless melding of speedy black metal with considerably more orchestration, this time around provided by the Gothenburg Opera Orchestra itself, creating a cacophony of nefarious melodies atop gothic gloom. “Puritania” is indicative of something the band probably would never have tried even a few years ago, a stirring descant with a myriad of vocal styles seemingly coming from all directions. A minority of purists might see this as too much of a departure, a complaint that would have more merit if Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia wasn’t as exquisite as it is diverse.

Track listing:
1. Fear And Wonder
2. Blessings Upon The Throne Of Tyranny
3. Kings Of The Carnival Creation
4. Hybrid Stigmata – The Apostatsy
5. Architecture Of A Genocidal Natur
6. Puritania
7. IndoctriNation
8. The Maelstrom Mephist
9. Absolute Sole Right
10. Sympozium
11. Perfection Or Vanity – Outro
12. Burn In Hell

Additional information


Nuclear blast records

Catalogue Number

NB 4287-4

Release Year