Dimmu Borgir -Forces Of the Northern Night dlp



Product Description

Double album on black vinyls with gatefold cover

Norwegian symphonic black metallers Dimmu Borgir recorded live on stage with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra and a bombastic choir. The bands remarkable and atramentous stage show has long seemed like a natural evolution for fans, but much time, arrangements and commitment were necessary to put this gigantic production into reality and fill the stage with 90 minutes of mindblowing aural delight per night. The shows guide the fans through classics from the band’s discography — from the majestic finisher “Mourning Palace” to the stomping manifesto “Puritania” and the haunting “Gateways”. “For us, this is the pinnacle of our career so far,” says frontman Stian Thoresen (a.k.a. Shagrath). “As a band, we’ve always used a lot of symphonic elements in our music. But we haven’t been able to use a real orchestra. We’ve had to use samples, synthesizers and so on, so this was a huge, awesome experience for us.” Dimmu Borgirs May 28, 2011 concert at the Oslo Spektrum in Norway featured a special setlist with 53 members of KORK (the Norwegian Radio Orchestra) and 30 members of the Schola Cantorum choir, who were musical guests on the band’s ninth studio album, 2010’s “Abrahadabra”. In an interview with Scuzz TV, guitarist Sven Atle Kopperud (a.k.a. Silenoz) stated about the experience of performing with an orchestra: “It was, of course, really special, especially since it was in Oslo, and a lot of people travelled in for the show from all over the world. And everything went great on stage for once. When you have a hundred people on stage, the percentage of something going wrong is definitely there, but it was really, really good.”

Track list:
1. Xibir (Orchestra)
2. Born Treacherous
3. Gateways
4. Dimmu Borgir (Orchestra)
5. Dimmu Borgir
6. Chess With The Abyss
7. Ritualist
8. A Jewel Traced Through Coal
9. Eradication Instincts Defined (Orchestra)
10. Vredesbyrd
11. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse
12. The Serpentine Offering
13. Fear And Wonder (Orchestra)
14. Kings Of The Carnival Creation
15. Puritania
16. Mourning Palace
17. Perfection Or Vanity (Orchestra)

Additional Information


Nuclear blast records

Catalogue Number

NB 3732-2

Release Year