Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Dio -Killing The Dragon lp [red/orange]


Out of stock

SKU: lp 539cq Categories: , ,


2022 re-issue on red and orange swirl vinyl with gatefold cover

Dios ninth album Killing The Dragon introduced the guitarist Doug Aldrich to the band, who had previously performed with Burning Rain and subsequently went on to join the band Whitesnake. Previous guitarist, Craig Goldy, co-wrote some of the songs before leaving the band. For this album Ronnie James steeped in the requisite medieval imagery he loves to use. The songs and the sound remain the same throughout, and as far as Dio is concerned this can be both good and bad. From the beginning he takes listeners down a familiar route with ‘Killing The Dragon’, which begins with a sinister intro and quickly kicks in with a classic metal guitar riff — formulaic yes, but definitely rocking. Dio’s voice is in fine form, as is the musicianship of his current lineup. This release occasionally treads in too-shallow water, trying to sustain the magic on songs such as ‘Push’ and ‘Guilty’ with overly simplistic lyrics and hollow melodies. However, with songs such as ‘Along Comes A Spider’, ‘Before the Fall’ (a forceful rocker with great keyboard additions by Scott Warren), and ‘Rock & Roll’ (a melodious ballad inspired by the September 11th tragedy that is very Sabbath-like in its pacing), Dio remains in classic form. ‘Throw Away Children’, a song about runaways and child abuse that includes the requisite children’s chorus, tries to mark the same vein as Pat Benatar’s ‘Hell Is for Children’, but ultimately is unsuccessful. The song was originally supposed to be used for Children of the Night (an organization that rescues children from street prostitution), but the lyrics were deemed too depressing. One could easily accuse Dio of being formulaic and unchanging, and while that is oftentimes true, it is also his consistency that gives him a quality of sound that fans know they can depend on. At one point he sings, ‘Kneel and behold your new king’ — same as the old king but still worthy of the metal crown. This is a welcome addition to any fan’s collection.

Track list:
1. Killing The Dragon
2. Along Comes A Spider
3. Scream
4. Better In The Dark
5. Rock n Roll
6. Push
7. Guilty
8. Throw Away Children
9. Before The Fall
10. Cold Feet

Additional information


BMG Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number