Entombed -Sons Of Satan Praise The Lord d/cd



Product Description

Original Music For Nations press

Entombed’s Sons of Satan Praise the Lord collects every cover song the Swedish death pioneers ever recorded — all 27 of them, spanning through the 1990s. And while this unwieldy two-disc compilation is entertaining and provides insight into the group’s wide range of influences, it’s by nature a strictly novel excursion. Songs range from the obvious — S.O.D. (“Stormtroopers of Death”)’s “March of the S.O.D.,” Repulsion’s “Black Breath,” Kiss’ “God of Thunder,” the Misfits’ “Hollywood Babylon,” Motörhead’s “One Track Mind” — to left-field entries, including a somewhat kitschy hack job on Lee Hazlewood’s rhythmically challenging “Some Velvet Morning,” a punishing hardcore version of Bob Dylan’s “The Ballad of Hollis Brown,” and not one, but two inebriated versions of “Amazing Grace,” vocalist L.G. Petrov growling with blasphemous glee on one, and moaning off-key on the other. Most notable is the band’s nod to obscure Texas death-grinders Dead Horse, “Scottish Hell,” which, with its sludgy minor-key melodies and bursts of rampant speed, betrays a major influence on the Swedes’ early sound. Otherwise, Sons of Satan is loaded with fun, albeit disposable groovy-death covers, notably Roky Erickson’s “Night of the Vampire,” King Crimson’s “21st Century Schizoid Man,” and Hüsker Dü’s “Something I Learnt Today.” Die-hard Entombed fans will appreciate the detailed liner notes and find a few rare tracks here, but no new tunes were recorded strictly for this compilation, and the majority of songs are culled from previously released sources (including rarities compilation Entombed, out-of-print Man’s Ruin eight-tracker Black Juju, the Wreckage EP, the U.S./bonus tracks version of Same Difference, and various singles). Ultimately, Sons of Satan’s random sequencing and scattershot approach parallel the group’s sonic-identity issues in the mid-to-late ’90s, and, while it’s a fun piece for collectors, it most likely won’t be in anyone’s regular listening rotation.

Track list:
1. Black Breath-Repulsion cover
2. Albino Flogged In Black-Stillborn cover
3. March of the S.O.D-S.O.D cover
4. Sergeant D. & The S.O.D.-S.O.D cover
5. Some Velvet Morning-Lee Hazlewood cover
6. One Track Mind-Motörhead cover
7. Hollywood Babylon-Misfits cover
8. Night of the Vampire-Roky Eriksson cover
9. God of Thunder-Kiss cover
10. Something I Learnt Today-Hüsker Dü cover
11. 21st Century Schizoid Man-King Crimson cover
12. Black Juju-Alice Cooper cover
13. Amazing Grace-punk version
14. Satan-The Dwarves cover
15. Hellraiser-Christopher Young cover
16. Kick Out The Jams-MC5 cover
17. Yout’ Juice-Bad Brains cover
18. Bursting Out-Venom cover
19. State of Emergency-Stiff Little Fingers cover
20. Under the Sun-Black Sabbath cover
21. Vandal X-Unsane cover
22. Tear It Loose-Twisted Sister cover
23. Scottish Hell-Dead Horse cover
24. The Ballad of Hollis Brown-Bob Dylan cover
25. Mesmerization Eclipse-Captain Beyond cover
26. Lost-Jerry´s Kids cover
27. Amazing Grace-Mellow Drunk version

Additional Information


Music For Nations

Release Year

Catalogue Number