Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Grotesque – In The Embrace of Evil


Out of stock

SKU: 754ce34e286c Category:


Grotesque was spawned out of the abyss in September 1988 rising from the ashes of death/thrash/metal band Conquest, a band first formed in early -86 by guitarist and songwriter Necrolord. Howsoever, this band didn't become totally twisted, insane and serious until unholy screamer Goatspell (Tomas Lindberg who established himself as one of the greatest death metal vocalists and founder of At The Gates) joined in March -88. When Grotesque hit the local scene in the fall of -88 there were absolutely no other death metal bands around in the Gothenburg area and there were literally just a few people into underground death metal. Grotesque is an ugly, uncanny bastardisation of death metal. The complex song structures and raw, unrelenting atmosphere of early Morbid Angel is blended with the messy over-stretched teenage ambition of early Possessed. Add some manic Slayer solos, crushing slow passages, atmospheric intros, an overtly Satanic image (corpsepaint before it became popular) – and you have Grotesque. The aggressive death metal found on ‘In The Embrace Of Evil’ sounds just as fresh today as it did back then. Tracks 1, 4, 5, and 6 are remastered songs from the ‘In The Embrace Of Evil’ demo that was never released. The songs 2, 3, 7, 8, and 9 are taken from the ‘Incantation’ EP. The final two songs were recorded in 1996 when Necrolord, Goatspell and Offensor entered Berno studio to record 2 songs especially for this album. The result is ‘Church Of The Pentagram’ and ‘Ripped From The cross’, the very first songs they wrote. All in all, an extremely nasty listening experience, and a classic example of ‘real death metal'. This is one of the best death metal releases that have ever come out of this country. Respect Tracklist: 1. Thirteen Bells of Doom 2. Blood Runs From The Altar 3. Submit To Death 4. Fall Into Decay 5. Seven Gates 6. Angels Blood 7. Nocturnal Blasphemies 8. Spawn of Azathoth 9. Incantation 10. Church of The Pentagram 11. Ripped From The Cross

Additional information


Black Sun

Release Year