Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Guillotine –Blood Money lp


Out of stock

SKU: Lp 537cp Categories: , , Tag:


Black vinyl with lyric insert and one bonus track. Limited 500 copies

Formed as Holocaust by Fredrik Mannberg and Nils Eriksson as a side-project to Nocturnal Rites the band went into a deep sleep but were reactivated in 2007 then with Persuader members Daniel Sundbom and Efraim Juntunen. Their second full length album ‘Blood Money’ was released in 2008 and this is a pure 80s thrash metal album, more or less a straight continuation of the style on their 1997 debut ‘Under The Guillotine’. Mannberg, from the rasping scream that opens the album to its conclusion, stamps his authority all over proceedings, and no one would be able to guess it has been a decade since he last expelled his ferocious vocals onto record (Nocturnal Rites started as a death metal band, remember). Along with new second guitarist Daniel Sundbom Mannberg also turns in some impressive solos – nothing out of this world, but memorable and in exactly the right frantic style for this kind of music – and the duo used to spending their time playing second fiddle to the Norberg brothers can be proud of their efforts. With 12 songs crammed into 40 minutes of running time it leaves little room to subtlety, with several short and punchy riffs squeezed into each of the 3 to 4 minute songs. As result there is no fat that could be trimmed from anywhere on the album, a perfect example of a taut and streamlined thrash collection with no waffling excesses. Picking out highlights is as result quite a challenge, but the brilliant ‘Die/Live’ deserves special recommendation for its manic chorus and spectacular midsection. ‘Blood money’ is not only a 40 minute feast of total aggression its also a comeback of dramatic proportions from Guillotine. Standing out amongst the crowd of the thrash renaissance is becoming an ever trickier task, but these comparative veterans have made it look easy, and are due all the credit in the world for that.

Track list:
1. Insane Oppression
2. Rebellion
3. Insanity
4. Liar
5. Die/Live
6. Skeleton City
7. Madness
8. Dying World
9. Welcome To Dying (Death, Destruction And Pain)
10. War
11. Our Darkest Day
12. Blood Money
13. I Hate Society

Additional information


Diabolic Might Records

Catalogue Number

D.M.R. 057

Release Year