Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Guns N Roses -At The Perkins Palace dlp


In stock

SKU: lp 543ct Categories: , , Tag:


Double album

Having formed in Hollywood in 1985 by former members of Hollywood Rose and L.A. Guns, Guns N Roses spent much of the following year touring in an effort make a name for themselves. These early shows cemented the first stable line-up, featuring Axl Rose, Slash, Duff McKagen, Izzy Stradlin and Steven Adler. Gigs at renowned venues such as The Troubadour and The Roxy caught the attention of major labels, and Guns N Roses signed to Geffen Records in March 1986. In order to keep interest in the band alive whilst they concentrated on recording their debut album, they released the EP Live ?!*@ Like A Suicide, a faux-live record that contained an equal mix of covers and originals, two of which – Mama Kin and Move To The City – would become concert staples in the years to come. Appetite For Destruction was released on 21st July 1987. This recording – broadcast live from Perkins Palace in Pasadena, CA, on 30th December 1987 – took place just a few months following the release of Appetite Of Destruction, when the boys were still relatively unknown outside of their hometown. With the entire band in exceptional form throughout the performance here, this set is a rare example of Guns playing an early show while already clearly a musical force to be reckoned with.

The Guns N’ Roses backdrop lowered as the crowd cheered in a frenzy. The charismatic W. Axl Rose, clad in a pair of tight pants, T-shirt and boots, lead the rest of the boys into ”It’s So Easy,” from their ”Appetite For Destruction” album. The sound was a little too loud in the beginning, which made it difficult to understand Rose clearly. Somewhere towards the end of the song, the sound engineer came to his senses and Rose became more audible. Guns N’ Roses proceeded to play ”Move To The City” off their ”Live Like A Suicide” mini-LP and then the infamous ”Mr. Brownstone” which nearly brought the house down. The show so far was going extremely well. Then Axl gave his spiel on an incident that occurred the prior evening at a local club which led the band into ”Out Ta Get Me.” Guitarists Izzy Stradlin and Slash really tore into this song and displayed fine teamwork along with Bassist Duff McKagan. They followed suit with the evertouching ”Sweet Child O’ Mine.” The stage for this song was perfectly set with kaleidoscope lights and dry ice, setting the mood for Axl’s soulful singing which he did so well, it could give a gospel choir a run for their money. Next came a new song, ”Used To Love Her” which was well-received with the audience. ”My Michelle” followed with full force and power as did ”Rocket Queen.” In the middle of ”Rocket Queen,” the temp changes sent the audience into a zealous hand-clapping fury. Guns N’ Roses had the house up in arms…literally. The real tightness that the band possesses became evident in a fine rendition of “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” which they dedicated to the late Todd Crew of Jetboy. Axl was trying to make some valid points in relation to the responsibility of taking drugs, but some callous people in the audience kept interrupting him. Disgusted, Rose told the loudmouths to “Shut the fuck up!” which made everyone cheer. It was at this point that the drummer Steven Adler (out of commission due to an injured hand) introduced substitute drummer Fred Coury of Cinderella. Coury did a fine job filling in, and Guns N’ Roses continued with ”You’re Crazy.” Then both Axl and Slash introduced everyone in the band and they did it perfectly, so not a single name was slurred or lost. Slash spearheaded into a new instrumental song (title unannounced). This song enabled all members in the band to showcase their talent without any lengthy solos. Steven Adler joined Coury to share drumming duties on this very blues-influenced number. ”Nightrain” ended the set before the first encore. Among the encores were a new song entitled ”Patience” and a cover of Aerosmith’s ”Mama Kin.” Guns N’ Roses played an outstanding set that was beyond comparison. A rejuvenation in the local and national rock scene has long been overdue and Guns N’ Roses have risen to the occasion. A very real band not to be missed!

Track listing:
1. It’s So Easy
2. Move To The City
3. Mr. Brownstone
4. Out Ta Get Me
5. Sweet Child O’ Mine
6. Used To Love Her
7. My Michele
8. Rocket Queen
9. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
10. Welcome To The Jungle
11. You’re Crazy
12. Blues Jam
13. Night Train
14. Patience
15. Mama Kin

Additional information


Egg Raid Records

Catalogue Number


Release Year