High On Fire -Death Is This Communion dlp [red]


Out of stock


Double album on one red vinyl and one grey vinyl with gatefold cover

Much like their sound, everything High on Fire do tends to be bigger than their contemporaries, a trend they continue with their first live albums, Spitting Fire Live, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2. The live set for the first instalment comes from a November 2012 performance at the Bowery Ballroom in New York City (though “Last” comes from a performance the following night at the Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn). Ripping through seven tracks, the album is an exercise in sweaty, sludgy mayhem that simply tramples anyone unwilling to get swept up by Matt Pike’s massive riffs and hoarse growls. True to its stoner metal roots, Spitting Fire Live, Vol. 1 is an experience that’s more visceral than technical, so while the playing on the album might not be as rock-solid as you’d find on any of High on Fire’s studio efforts, the looser style of their live set gives the songs a more in-the-moment feeling, making this live set well worth the time of High on Fire fans looking for something new rather than just a pitch-perfect re-creation of the albums they already own. On Spitting Fire Live, Vol. 2, the second instalment of their two-album live extravaganza, High on Fire dive headfirst into the stoner end of the pool with a collection of sludgy and psychedelic metal excursions from their two-night run in New York City. Primarily recorded at the Music Hall of Williamsburg, with “Blood from Zion” and “Snakes for the Divine” coming from the previous night’s set at the Bowery Ballroom, the album replaces the first volume’s unstoppable stampede of riffs with a more trippy selection of heavy jams meant to take you on a journey to your mind’s eye. Given this volume’s wholly different feeling than the rampaging sounds of Spitting Fire Live, Vol. 1, High on Fire made a smart choice in breaking the two albums up (as well as playing with the track selection a bit), creating a noticeable difference that makes them feel like separate entities rather than just one live set broken up. Between these two sets, fans get a chance to explore the many facets of High on Fire’s sound, and no matter which side of the coin you might fall on, the Spitting Fire Live series has something for you.

Track listing:
1. Serums of Liao
2. Frost Hammer
3. 10,000 Years
4. Devolution
5. Last
6. Fertile Green
7. Speedwolf
8. Rumors of War
9. DII
10. Fury Whip
11. Madness of an Architect
12. Face of Oblivion
13. Hung Drawn and Quartered
14. Blood from Zion
15. Snakes for the Divine

Additional information


Relapse Records

Catalogue Number

Release Year