Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Kiss ‎–Destroyer 45th Anniversary dcd


In stock

SKU: cd 65i Categories: , ,


45th anniversary edition. Double cd in digipak with lots of bonus material

The pressure was on Kiss for their fourth studio release, and the band knew it. Their breakthrough, Alive!, was going to be hard to top, so instead of trying to recreate a concert setting in the studio, they went the opposite route. Destroyer is one of Kiss’ most experimental studio albums, but also one of their strongest and most interesting. Alice Cooper/Pink Floyd producer Bob Ezrin was on hand, and he strongly encouraged the band to experiment — there’s extensive use of sound effects (the album’s untitled closing track), the appearance of a boy’s choir (“Great Expectations”), and an orchestra-laden, heartfelt ballad (“Beth”). But there’s plenty of Kiss’ heavy thunder rock to go around, such as the demonic “God of Thunder” and the sing-along anthems “Flaming Youth,” “Shout It Out Loud,” “King of the Night Time World,” and “Detroit Rock City” (the latter a tale of a doomed concert-goer, complete with violent car-crash sound effects). But it was the aforementioned Peter Criss ballad, “Beth,” that made Destroyer such a success; the song was a surprise Top Ten hit (it was originally released as a B-side to “Detroit Rock City”). Also included is a song that Nirvana would later cover (“Do You Love Me?”), as well as an ode to the pleasures of S&M, “Sweet Pain.” Destroyer also marked the first time that a comic-book illustration of the band appeared on the cover, confirming that the band was transforming from hard rockers to superheroes.

Track list:
1. Detroit Rock City
2. King Of The Nightime World
3. God Of Thunder
4. Great Expectations
5. Flaming Youth
6. Sweet Pain
7. Shout It Out Loud
8. Beth
9. Do You Love Me
10. Rock And Roll Party
11. God Of Thunder And Rock And Roll-Paul Stanley demo
12. Detroit Rock City-Paul Stanley demo
13. Love Is Alright-Paul Stanley demo
14. I Don’t Want No Romance-Gene Simmons demo
15. Rock N Rolls Royce-Gene Simmons demo
16. Star-Gene Simmons demo
17. Beth-acoustic mix
18. Shout It Out Loud-mono single edit
19. King Of The Night Time World-live rehearsal instrumental
20. Detroit Rock City-instrumental
21. Flaming Youth-early version
22. Shout It Out Loud-alternate mix
23. Deuce-live Paris 22 May 1976
24. Strutter-live Paris 22 May 1976
25. Flaming Youth-live Paris 22 May 1976
26. Hotter Than Hell-live Paris 22 May 1976

Additional information


Universal Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number