Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Metallica -To Live Is To Die dlp


Out of stock


Double album on black vinyls. Limited 500 copies

After bassist Cliff Burton was killed on the 27th of September 1986. The band auditioned around 40 new bassists, including Les Claypool of Primus and Troy Gregory of Prong, the group eventually chose former Flotsam And Jetsam member Jason Newsted as Burtons replacement. With Newsted in tow, the group quickly released The $5.98 E.P.: Garage Days Re-Revisited – a record consisting of five covers from the likes of Diamond Head and Misfits – as a way of relieving the stress and grief following the tragedy. Almost a year to the day hence, Metallica released their first album with Newsted …And Justice For All, on 25th August 1988. The record would prove to be their greatest success yet; reaching No. 6 on the Billboard Top 200, remaining in the charts for 83 weeks and going 8 x Platinum. The track One would become amongst the bands best-known songs, and be their first Top 40 single, earning them their first Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance in 1990. This recording, broadcast across local FM radio, was recorded on Metallicas tour in support of Justice at The Market Square Theatre in Indianapolis on 24th November 1988. Featuring such classics as For Whom The Bell Tolls, Master Of Puppets and the aforementioned One, this performance clearly demonstrates that – in the face of great loss – the band had lost none of their speed, aggression or attitude.

Track list:
1. Blackened
2. For Whom The Bell Tolls
3. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
4. Leper Messiah
5. Harvester Of Sorrow
6. Eye Of The Beholder
7. To Live Is To Die
8. Master Of Puppets
9. One
10. Seek & Destroy
11. And Justice For All
12. Creeping Death
13. Fade To Black
14. Battery
15. Last Caress
16. Am I Evil?
17. Whiplash

Additional information


Egg Raid Records

Catalogue Number


Release Year