Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Millencolin -True Brew lp


In stock

Categories: ,


Original 2015 press on black vinyl with printed innersleeve

Swedish punk outfit Millencolin’s presence in the U.S. is mostly relegated to a specific time, namely the skatepunk scene of the late 90s/early 2000s, but the band has been cranking out high-quality, Bad Religion-inspired pit anthems since the early 90s, and the Epitaph-issued True Brew, their eighth studio album and first collection of new material in seven years, is a near-perfect distillation of knee-scraping skate rock and melodic, blue-collar punk-pop. In a genre saturated by nasally, emo-heavy metalcore, it’s a real joy to hear old-school, no-frills, D.I.Y. punk rock done with such emotional evenhandedness and melodic craftsmanship. It’s political without being preachy, sentimental without coming off as nostalgic, and ballsy without catering to the lowest common denominator. Standout cuts like Wall of Doubt, Chameleon, Something I Would Die For, and Egocentric Man satisfy through a winning blend of precision, melody, and might. It’s the same kind of punchy yet not too over-produced approach that made Against Me!’s White Crosses’ best moments really hit home, and Millencolin are at their most dialed-in when they’re digging in and gunning for the big chorus, which they do throughout the album’s just under half-hour running time. With 23 years and now eight albums behind them, Millencolin are no doubt a tad older and wiser, but even bereft of any of that context, True Brew manages to sound refreshingly vital, which is more than can be said about many of their contemporaries.

Track listing:
1. Egocentric Man
2. Chameleon
3. Autopilot Mode
4. Bring Me Home
5. Sense And Sensibility
6. True Brew
7. Perfection Is Boring
8. Wall Of Doubt
9. Something I Would Die For
10. Silent Suicide
11. Man Of 1000 Tics
12. Mr. Fake Believe
13. Believe In John

Additional information



Catalogue Number

Release Year