Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Oasis –Manchester 1996 dvd


In stock

SKU: dvd 18c Categories: , Tag:


Reduced price due to some small marks on the dvd

Some decades ago, Britpop was at its height: (Whats The Story) Morning Glory was a huge seller and Oasis were all set to headline the home of Manchester City FC for two nights. We tend to remember the year of 1996 for the huge event that saw the band play at Knebworth House in August, but in April the Gallagher brothers enjoyed a more personal achievement.Manchester City fans since birth, Noel and Liam had a dream come true on the weekend of Saturday 27 and Sunday 28 April, when Oasis headlined two shows at the football club’s ground of Maine Road. 40,000 people flocked to the stadium each night to watch Oasis unleash an accomplished set that showcased their first two, generation-defining albums. Tickets were apparently changing hands for £300 each. Supporting Oasis at both shows were Manic Street Preachers, then regrouping after the disappearance of guitarist Richey Edwards and about to release their classic album, Everything Must Go. Also on the bill were Ocean Colour Scene, whose Moseley Shoals album had been released earlier in the year – they were about to become household names when Chris Evans used their track The Riverboat Song on his TV show TFI Friday. Britpop heroes Cast were also due to play, but their drummer had broken his arm. Gutted? Yes, very probably. Both shows opened with the Morning Glory helicopter sound giving way to The Swamp Song, with Noel playing his distinctive Union Jack-emblazoned Epiphone Sheraton guitar and Liam taking a crafty smoke onstage in those pre-ban days. The setlist showcased the highlights of Definitely Maybe and Morning Glory, with older tracks like Supersonic and Cigarettes And Alcohol sitting comfortably alongside the newies like Hello and Roll With It. The Morning Glory tour had previously seen Noel Gallagher take on Cast No Shadow and Wonderwall in a special acoustic section of the set, but Maine Road saw full band versions, with Liam on vocals. There were also the covers: the band’s famous take on The Beatles’ I Am The Walrus and a rabble-rousing version of Slade’s classic single Cum On Feel The Noize. This dvd features the Sunday show from a year where one in five households of England owned a copy of (What’s The Story) Morning Glory, it was a high water mark for Britpop.

Track list:
1. The Swamp Song
2. Acquiesce
3. Supersonic
4. Hello
5. Some Might Say
6. Roll With It
7. Morning Glory
8. Round Are Way (with another bit of Up In The Sky at the end)
9. Cigarettes & Alcohol
10. Champagne Supernova
11. Whatever (Noel on vocals)
12. Cast No Shadow
13. Wonderwall
14. The Masterplan
15. Don’t Look Back in Anger
16. Live Forever
17. I Am the Walrus-The Beatles cover
18. Cum On Feel the Noize-Slade cover

Additional information


Not On Label

Release Year