Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Opeth -In Cauda Venenum dlp [Japan edition]


In stock

SKU: LP 525al Categories: , , Tag:


Japanese edition on blue and white swirl vinyls with gatefold cover with OBI-strip and Japanese lyric insert. Limited 100 copies

Certainly, fans and critics will have their different opinion on which Opeth albums that are their best but few records in the Swedes oeuvre are as engaging, delicate, panoramic, intense, and musical as their lucky thirteenth album, In Cauda Venenum. Sporting a clever Travis Smith cover – replete with inside jokes and a nod to King Diamond – a masterful Park Studios production, Opeths usual five-star musicianship, and lyrics entirely in Swedish, In Cauda Venenum raises the bar markedly. While a record in Swedish is a first—there’s also an English version—for frontman and founding member Mikael Åkerfeldt, the 10 songs on offer feel and sound completely natural. As if years of listening to and being a fan of Swedish rock and hard rock has paid off. In a way, Opeth have come home. But the Swedish lyrics of the primary edition of In Cauda Venenum shouldn’t distract from the quality presented in Opeths songs, the lot of which sneak up and take control after repeated listens. In Cauda Venenum is like that, tricky in its complicated simplicity, resourceful in its ability to charm with delightful if wistful melodies. Really, it’s just Opeth being Opeht.

Track list:
1. Livets Trädgård
2. Svekets Prins
3. Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör
4. De Närmast Sörjande
5. Minnets Yta
6. Charlatan
7. Ingen Sanning Är Allas
8. Banemannen
9. Kontinuerlig Drift
10. Allting Tar Slut

Additional information


Northeast Steel Industry Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number