Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Ophthalamia ‎–II Elishia II 3lp


In stock

SKU: lp 510bi Categories: , , Tag:


Triple album on black vinyls with lyric insert. Limited 400 copies

Ophthalamia is a fantasy-world created by IT. The Goddess of this world is the woman with the demons, called Elishia. IT has also created the surroundings of Ophthalamia (I guess that the shores of Kaa-Ta-Nu are a part of this world, as the sea of Ragiih-Nib and the moutains of Makubu-Keen are), the land’s creatures and a language for Ophthalamians. Ophthalamia first started in 1989 and this album II Elishia II is overly more an assemblage of demo recordings and rough mixes that shows what a unique Swedish black metal band this was. The music on here seems to capture its intended feelings, or ideal quite well, and while blending a lot of tempo variety, and progressive structuring in the songs it still retains a very raw, extreme metal musical texture. You can certainly expect an eclectic variety with leans towards NWOBHM, Doom, Ambient, 1st and 2nd wave Black Metal, a slightly Death feel in some areas all wound up around the lone vision of It. The imagery and message of the tunes seems quite thought out, and imaginative, displaying an obvious competence at professional presentation, and having strong ideas to convey. Overall a highly stylized, well done assortment of demo tracks, that at the time of their recording was quite fresh, and inventive. No one was doing what these guys were doing when they first started. Of the original material, dates stretch between 1988 and 1994, and on here there are 5 separate line ups which performed the tunes. Continuity on here is fairly clear, and even with a variety of production qualities, and musicianship abilities / styles, its all clearly built around the Ophthalamia / It sound. Among these 5 different line ups youll find people like It (Tony Sarkka) – Guitars, Vocals (Abruptum, Vondur, Incision, War and 8th Sin) Night (Emil Nodveidt) – Guitars, Vocals (Deathstars, Swordmaster) Legion (Erik Hagstedt) (Marduk, Devian and Elizium) Winter (Benny Larsson) (Edge of Sanity, Pan.Thy.Monium and Stygg Dod) All (Jim Berger) – Vocals (Abruptum, War (Swe), Vondur) Mourning (Robert Ivarsson} (Pan.Thy.Monium, Facebreaker, Incapacity, Stygg Dod, Ashes)

Track list:
1. A Cry From The Halls Of Blood- Empire Of Lost Dreams-A Long Journey demo 91
2. A Lonely Ceremony – The Eternal Walk-rehearsal 90
3. Journey In Darkness – Entering The Forest-rehearsal 91
4. Castle Of No Repair – From A Blackened Heart-A Long Journey demo 91
5. Shores Of Kaa Tu Nu – The Eternal Walk Part II-A Long Journey demo 91
6. Nightfall Of Mother Earth – Summer Distress-rehearsal 94
7. Enter The Darkest Thoughts Of The Chosen – Agonys Silent Paradise-promo tape version 92
8. Deathcrush-rehearsal 94
9. Sacrifice-rehearsal 94
10. I Summon Thee Father – Death Embrace Me-A Long Journey demo 91
11. A Cry From The Halls Of Blood / Empire Of Lost Dreams-A Journey In Darkness rough mix
12. Little Child Of Light / Degradation Of Holiness-A Journey In Darkness rough mix
13. Enter The Darkest Thoughts Of The Chosen / Agony’s Silent Paradise-rehearsal
14. A Lonely Soul / Hymn To A Dream-A Journey In Darkness rough mix
15. Journey In Darkness / Entering The Forest-promo with IT on vocals
16. Castle Of No Repair, Part II-instrumental version
17. This Is The Pain Called Sorrow / To The Memory Of Me-A Journey In Darkness rough mix
18. After A Releasing Death / Castle Of No Repair, Part II-Via Dolorosa rehearsal
19. Message To Those After Me / Death Embrace Me, Part I-instrumental
20. Slowly Passing The Frostlands / A Winterlands Tear-Via Dolorosa rehearsal
21. A Lonely Ceremony / The Eternal Walk-rehearsal
22. I Summon Thee Oh Father / Death Embrace Me-A Journey In Darkness rough mix

Additional information


Soulseller Records

Release Year


Catalogue Number