Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Pantera -Reinventing The Steel dlp [silver]


In stock

SKU: LP 544dh Categories: , ,


20th anniversary edition as double album on silver vinyls with new cover artwork, 8 bonus tracks, printed innersleeves and gatefold cover

Where The Great Southern Trendkill experimented with slower, moodier pieces, Reinventing the Steel finds Pantera sticking to the pulverizing basics of their sound, with the first down-tempo, nondistorted guitar part appearing on the next-to-last track, “It Makes Them Disappear,” and vanishing about 15 seconds into the song. In the tradition of the group’s best albums, Reinventing the Steel is a nonstop assault on the senses, offering no respite from the intensity until the album has stopped playing. Yet somehow, it comes off as a cut below their best albums; perhaps it’s that the band’s sound lacks the sense of freshness that sparked Cowboys From Hell, Vulgar Display of Power, and Far Beyond Driven, or perhaps it’s simply good in a very predictable way (contrary to its title). Yet even if Pantera is firmly entrenched in a signature sound, it’s a distinctive, highly effective signature sound that most of the band’s fans don’t want to hear changed; plus, Dimebag Darrell is still one of the most inventive guitar players in heavy metal. The bottom line is that the way you feel about Reinventing the Steel will likely depend on whether you object to more of the same; if not, then the lean focus of its attack — the most concise, actually, since Vulgar Display — will make it more than worthwhile.

Track listing:
1. Hell Bound
2. Goddamn Electric
3. Yesterday Don’t Mean Shit
4. You’ve Got To Belong To It
5. Revolution Is My Name
6. Death Rattle
7. We’ll Grind That Axe For A Long Time
8. Uplift
9. It Makes Them Disappear
10. I’ll Cast A Shadow
11. Avoid The Light
12. Immortally Insane
13. Cat Scratch Fever-Ted Nugent cover
14. Hole In The Sky-Black Sabbath cover
15. Electric Funeral-Black Sabbath cover
16. Goddamn Electric-radio mix
17. Revolution Is My Name-radio edit
18. Ill Cast A Shadow-radio edit

Additional information


Elektra Records / Rhino Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number

RCV1 643432 / 603497846368