Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Place Vendome -Close To The Sun lp


Out of stock

SKU: Lp 520cn Categories: , , Tag:


Black vinyl with gatefold cover

The Place Vendome project is comprised of Michael Kiske (ex-Helloween, Unisonic) on vocals, Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69, Unisonic) on bass, Uwe Reitenauer (Pink Cream 69) on guitars, Gunter Werno (Vandenplas) on keyboards and Dirk Bruineberg (ex-Elegy, Consortium Project) on the drums. Close To The Sun is one of the project’s best albums and the heaviest to date. As on the previous three releases, the songwriting is provided by various musicians. Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear), Jani Liimatainen (Cain’s Offering, ex-Sonata Arctica), Olaf Thorsen (Vision Divine, Labyrinth), Fabio Lione (Vision Divine, Angra, ex-Rhapsody of Fire), Alessandro Del Vecchio (Hardline), Simone Mularoni (DGM), Aldo Lonobile (Secret Sphere) and Mike Palace make up the songwriting team. In addition, this is the first Place Vendome album to feature guest guitar solos by Gus G (Firewind, Ozzy Osbourne), Kai Hansen (ex-Helloween, Gamma Ray, Unisonic), Mandy Meyer (Krokus, Unisonic), Alfred Koffler (Pink Cream 69), Magnus Karlsson, Simone Mularoni and Michael Klein. The music on Close To The Sun is generally heavier compared to the previous three offerings. The sound is more guitar oriented and the keyboard presence is usually supportive. Most songs fall under the melodic hard rock category, there are a few AOR numbers and some ballads. There are good dosages of both melodic as well as heavier riffs, metal and symphonic influences, some very impressive solos by the various guests and solid rhythm sections. As for the vocals, Michael Kiske is once again a revelation. For the first time in Place Vendome’s history he displays plenty of deeper baritone vocals together with mid range melodies and his signature soaring highs. The diversity of the songs allows him to show off his range and to display various facets of his voice. Close To The Sun is one of the best Place Vendome albums and another jewel in the project’s discography. If you enjoyed Place Vendome’s previous releases buy this now! If you are into the heavier side of AOR /melodic rock you will be amazed by this project.

Track list:
1. Close To The Sun
2. Welcome To The Edge
3. Hereafter
4. Strong
5. Across The Times
6. Riding The Ghost
7. Light Before The Dark
8. Falling Star
9. Breathing
10. Yesterday Is Gone
11. Helen
12. Distant Skies

Additional information



Release Year

Catalogue Number