Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Rainbow -Nippon 1976 3lp [white]


Out of stock

SKU: lp 546as Categories: , , Tag:


Triple vinyl set on white vinyls. Limited 70 numbered copies

This is Rainbow’s evening concert on a day when they played 2 shows at the Nippon Budokan Hall in Tokyo in Japan (on the 16th of December 1976). This was Rainbow first tour of Japan and they were out supporting Rising and what we have here is a fantastic performance. Highlights are Mistreated from Blackmore’s days with his former band, Catch The Rainbow, Man On The Silver Mountain from the first album, Still Im Sad which was written by Jim McCarty and Paul Samwell-Smith of The Yardbirds. Blackmore and Powell’s jam on Lazy is incredible, they are seeing who’s wrist can outlast whose in an fantastic barrage. The live versions of both Catch The Rainbow and Stargazer go so far beyond where the studio versions ever did, the improvisations flow effortlessly. Ronnie James Dio shines through also, his vocals bring so much to the band and he actually puts his own stamp on the Purple classic Mistreated. A fantastic release

Track list:
1. Over The Rainbow
2. Kill The King
3. Mistreated (Deep Purple Cover)
4. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
5. Catch The Rainbow
6. Jam – Lazy & White Christmas
7. Mam On The Silver Mountain
8. Blues – Starstruck
9. Man On The Silver Mountain (Reprise)
10. Keyboard Intro
11. Stargazer
12. Still I´m Sad – Keyboard Solo
13. Drum Solo – 1812 Overture
14. Still I´m Sad (Reprise)
15. Do You Close Your Eyes
16. Over The Rainbow

Additional information


Iron Eagle Records

Catalogue Number

IE 190/191/192

Release Year