Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Reading Rock Volume One dlp [japan promo]


In stock

SKU: lp 509ff Categories: , , Tags: , , , , ,


Reduced price due to grease stains on the upper side of the inside of the gatefold and a cut out in the lower right corner

PROMOTIONAL ONLY means issued by record company in very limited quantity and sent to selected Industry professionals ONLY for promotional consideration/airplay. Never for sale and highly collectible releases

Rare Japan Promo. Double album with gatefold cover, OBI-strip, promo labels and a 4 page insert

The twenty second edition of Reading Rock possibly had a more attractive line-up than 1981, at least if one was a heavy rock devotee. The inclusion of hard rock guitar stalwarts Gary Moore, Randy California, southern rockers Blackfoot and erstwhile pub rockers Dave Edmunds and Wilko Johnson gave the line-up spine that was missing from the previous year. The headliners were also a tad more prestigious. The Scorpions/UFO former lead guitarist Michael Schenker, whose repertoire veered into the sort of metal jazz/rock territory inhabited by Jeff Beck- as well as delivering more predictable hard rock fare -gave Sunday night a touch of class. For this MSG show, vocalist Graham Bonnet had been recently replaced by Gary Barden. Apparently Bonnet had collapsed on stage at a show only days before this recording and Barden was brought back to stand in for the indisposed Bonnett. Budgie and Iron Maiden were guaranteed to deliver an exciting hard rock show, regardless of whether one thought of them as innovators within the genre or not. Maiden’s credentials were reinforced by the presence of Bruce Dickinson , the erstwhile Samson lead vocalist , who had taken over the vocal spot from Paul Di’Anno. More hardrock acts followed with Y&T, Twisted Sister, Diamond Head, Marillion, FM, Praying Mantis, Baron Rojo, Tygers Of Pan Tang, Bernie Torme, Chinatown, Stampede, Grand Prix and Stamped. Some of these bands (not all) are featured on this album. We also get two live tracks with U.FO. recorded live at the Reading Rock Festival 1980.

Track list:
1. Michael Schenker –Attack Of The Mad Axeman
2. Terraplane –I Want Your Body
3. Marillion –He Knows You Know
4. Jackie Lynton –Slow Rider
5. Budgie –Superstar
6. Bernie Marsden –S.O.S.
7. Chinatown –I Wanna See You Tonight
8. Randy California –Come On Woman
9. Stampede –There And Back
10. Twisted Sister –Shoot Em Down
11. UFO –Hot And Ready
12. Marillion –Three Boats Down From The Candy
13. Terraplane –Turn Me Loose
14. Just Good Friends –You Really Got Me
15. Twisted Sister –Under The Blade
16. Budgie –Panzer Division Destroyed
17. Grand Prix –Keep On Believin
18. Spider –All The Time
19. Chinatown –Caught On The Wrong Side
20. Jackie Lynton –Hedgehog Song

Additional information


Overseas Records / Teichiku Records Japan

Catalogue Number


Release Year