Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Rigor Mortis -Slaves To The Grave lp


In stock

SKU: LP 544dr Categories: , ,


Very rare private pressed original 2014 press on black vinyl

Slaves To The Grave is the last will and testament of the Dallas/Ft Worth band Rigor Mortis. Fated for release, the recording sessions wrapped just days before the tragic loss of guitarist Mike Scaccia, who suffered a massive heart attack and collapsed while performing on stage. Rigor Mortis hit the national scene in 1987 as the first underground Heavy Metal band to sign to a major label. Their 1988 debut record, Rigor Mortis, has since become legendary in the thrash/speed metal community, influencing bands like Toxic Holocaust and Goatwhore, and motivating Ministry to leave the disco for the metal arena. Ministry would, in turn, influence everything from Nine Inch Nails to Marilyn Manson and Slipknot. The members would remain friends through thick and thin throughout the years, and in 2012 the pieces finally came together. Rigor Mortis entered the studio to record what was to be their comeback record. Older, wiser and good with their personal lives Rigor Mortis had finally come full circle. Then, on December 22nd, 2012, it all came to a halt. While playing their home town club in Ft. Worth in celebration of singer Bruce Corbitt’s 50th birthday, midway through the set Mike Scaccia suffered a massive heart attack and collapsed on stage. He could not be revived and was pronounced dead shortly after midnight. Rigor Mortis was over. Though never discussed, all knew there was no Rigor Mortis without Mike, but the album was recorded and almost finished. As fate would have it, just days before he died Mike went into the studio and put the finishing touches on all of his parts, effectively enabling the guys to finish the record, knowing that Scaccia was happy with it. They endeavoured every step of the way to do justice to the Rigor Mortis legacy, and bring honor to Mike Scaccia’s last recorded testament. We think he would be proud

Track listing:
1. Poltergeist
2. Rain Of Ruin
3. Flesh For Flies
4. The Infected
5. Blood Bath
6. Ancient Horror
7. Fragrance Of Corpse
8. Curse Of The Draugr
9. Sacramentum Gladiatorum/Ludus Magnus

Additional information


Rigor Mortis

Catalogue Number

Release Year