Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Rivers Of Nihil ‎–Where Owls Know My Name cd


In stock

SKU: cd 129j Categories: , ,


Forget everything you think you know about Rivers Of Nihil. The Reading, PA quintet announced themselves as one of the most promising and forward-thinking metal bands in the world today with their first two releases, The Conscious Seed of Light (2013) and Monarchy (2015). But in 2018, they will shatter all expectations with their third full-length, Where Owls Know My Name. Compared to the first two album its clear that Rivers have stepped up their songwriting game considerably. Where Owls Know My Name just stay with you and they have scaled back some of the look-at-me technicality in favor of good songcraft a lot. The progressive nature of these songs isn’t immediately apparent because of how all of the parts easily flow together and come back to solid hooks, but progressive it is, drawing some Pink Floyd and King Crimson influence into their extended-range modern metal approach instead of just being technical death metal. The album is a very captivating, sometimes ethereal, sometimes very brutal but still a very very catchy album when one considers the complexity involved.

Track list:
1. Cancer / Moonspeak
2. The Silent Life
3. A Home
4. Old Nothing
5. Subtle Change (Including The Forest Of Transition And Dissatisfaction Dance)
6. Terrestria III: Wither
7. Hollow
8. Death Is Real
9. Where Owls Know My Name
10. Capricorn / Agoratopia

Additional information


Metal Blade Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number