Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Roger Waters –Germany 2002 dcd


In stock


Double album in digipak

Pink Floyd’s bassplayer Roger Waters recorded live in Erfurt, Germany on the 17th of May 2002. This was the start of the Germany part of his world tour. His setlist: a selection of Pink Floyd songs, and songs from his solo career. Waters and his band played before approximately 10,000 fans, that paid a not insignificant entrance for one technically and artistically impressive show. The 360-degree sound system however had difficulties now and then, with crude resounding architecture, the high tones of spectacular guitar runs made itself heard in the hall roof of enormous high-grade steel pipes, as unwanted feedback. Adverse acoustic conditions is to be also owed, by the still intelligent, current texts much misunderstand sometimes almost oppressing is. The spectators are led by an aesthetically fastidious video projection of this special evening. And they get nearly all the classic songs they want to hear, from the history of Rock n Roll. The Beatles stood, in the second half of the 20th century, for an unencumbered youth. Waters, Dave Gilmour and the other Pink Floyd members expressed the dark side. Dark Side Of The Moon is the most long-lived album of modern music history, The Wall a timeless classic, Welcome to The Machine – it makes you feel Comfortably Numb. Waters stated that it meant much to be able to play the song Another Brick in The Wall, forbidden at that time by the South African apartheid system, in South Africa. That was on 27 February in Cape Town and on 1 March in Johannesburg. Afterwards he went over to Japan and Australia, over Bangkok and Beirut towards Europe: on 4 May after two years on tour under the title In The Flesh, which started in the USA, reached Lisbon. Waters is after an 18 year break thereby for the first time again on tour in Europe, and he is met with ovations after ovations. Even if Waters solo works have been broadly ignored by the public he still writes fascinating texts. It captures the worldwide history of the failure of humanity from Pennsylvania to the Philippines, from Cape Town to Berlin. With lines like: It all makes perfect sense, expressed in dollars and cents and/or With the help Of God Almighty, and the pressure Of the marketplace, the human race has civilized itself. After almost two hours Waters returns to the stage for the encore, The Flickering Flame, that leaves the audience with some hope before they return to the parking lot. With The Flickering Flame the otherwise so cynical musician turns mild, sings of love and liberty – a present to you, everything becomes good. After an amazing night Waters leaves no one dissapointed and we all hope that we dont need to wait another 18 years before we see him on European soil again.

Track list:
1. In The Flesh
2. Happiest Days Of Our Lives
3. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2
4. Mother
5. Get Your Filthy Hands Off My Desert
6. Sothampton Dock
7. Pigs On The Wing Part 1
8. Dogs
9. Shine On Your Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
10. Welcome To The Machine
11. Wish You Were Here
12. Shine On Your Crazy Diamond Parts 6-9
13. Time
14. Money
15. The Pros And Cons Of Hitch Hiking Part 11
16. Perfect Sense Part 1
17. Perfect Sense Part 2
18. The Bravery Of Being Out Of Range
19. It´s A Miracle
20. Amused To Death
21. The Dark Side Of The Moon
22. Band Introduction
23. Comfortable Numb
24. The Flickering Flame

Additional information


Filou Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number