Sabbat (jap) -Sabbatical Earlyearslaught Box [6 lp/4 pic/2 dvds]



Product Description

Limited paper case-wrapped box with 6 lps, 4 picture discs, poster flag, 2 dvds, 140 page hardbound book, Gezols notebook reproduction, patch and sticker. Limited 175 copies

The history of Sabbat is entirely unique within the underground metal scene. No other band rivals Sabbat in terms of longevity, consistency, and dedication. While the musical history of Sabbats members extends back even further, the commonly accepted point of origin for the band was in 1984 when Gezol along with drummer Valvin and guitarists, Elizaveat and Ozny, having previously operated under the name Evil, changed their name to Sabbat. The next year the band recorded, produced, and released its first EP. Influenced by more sinister strains of underground heavy metal and decidedly evil and Satanic imagery, Sabbat endeavoured to push metal to its logical extreme and, as a result, Sabbat is among those few bands that ushered in the first wave of Black Metal. Released in 1985, the self-titled 7” contained early versions of Mions Hill and Black Fire. As relevant today as when they were first released, these songs remain staples of the Sabbat catalogue – a testament to the durability of Sabbats sound through the decades. Although Sabbat continually pushes the boundaries of their style (see, for instance, 1996s The Dwelling album, which consists of one 60 minute epic track), they also display certain conservatism in their approach which has resulted in Sabbats refusal to deviate from its established sound and aesthetic. Such conservatism is rooted in Gezols and the other members complete devotion to Metal as a genre of music and as a lifestyle. Their music emanates from this total passion for Metal. For the last 30 years, Sabbat has remained the most prolific and authentic Black Metal band in the world. In 2011, Sabbat released its ninth proper full-length entitled Sabbatrinity, which fell perfectly in line with the other releases in the Sabbat catalogue despite the recent addition of Damiazell on guitar following Temis Osmonds departure in 2005. Until that time, Sabbat had suffered no line-up changes since 1990. In fact, there have only been eight official members of Sabbat, an astonishing feat for such an active and long-lasting underground band. It goes without saying that Sabbat could have signed to a much bigger label and exploited their sound, which very likely would have garnered them greater monetary success and widespread popularity. One of the most important facets of Sabbats identity, however, is the bands commitment to the underground. Throughout the years Sabbat has either self-released or turned to reputable underground labels for their more prominent works as well as allowing countless smaller labels the opportunity to release some of the hundreds of rehearsal or live recordings the band has made. Gezol continues to keep his day job, refusing to treat Sabbat as a job or career because, to do so, would violate the principles upon which the band is based. This incorruptibility ensures the continued quality and integrity of Sabbats music. Refusing to compromise in this regard, Sabbat has truly earned its place in Black Metal history. In honour of Sabbats 30 year anniversary comes this the most extensive collection to date of Sabbats earliest material from the bands inception to the 1991 release of the debut full-length, Envenom. The box has been in the works now for more than four years and it all of the bands five early EPs. Some of Sabbats original tape only releases are also featured in this box including the Bloody Countess tape, which was released in the early 1990s, but features a selection of tracks recorded at SK Hall in the mid-1980s and the Sabbatical Demon demo released in 1990. In addition to these seminal recordings, this box includes the Rough Mix Version of the Envenom album that the band released on tape in the mid-1990s as well as some of the bands earliest rehearsal recordings. Accompanying the six LPs is a 140-page hardbound book featuring previously unseen photos, notes, and biographical material. The Die Hard edition explores the depths of Sabbatical history, assembling four additional albums featuring the extant material from pre-Sabbat projects such as Hot Rod (Iron Maiden cover band) and Evil (Venom cover band) as well as additional early rehearsal and live material culled from Gezols personal tape collection.

Track listing 1:
Lp 1: Sabbat / Born by Evil Blood / Desecration
1. Black Fire 1
2. Mions Hill 1
3. Satanic Rites – Curdle the Blood 2
4. Poison Child 2
5. Welcome to Sabbat – Crest of Satan 3
6. Children of Hell 3
7. Darkness and Evil 3

Lp 2: The Devils Sperm is Cold / The Seven Deadly Sins / Sabbatical Demon
1. Immortality of the Soul 4
2. Hellfire 4
3. Possessed the Room (Kanashibari) 5
4. Sacrifice of Angel 5
5. Crying in Last 5
6. Witchs Mill 6
7. Black Fire 6
8. Rage of Mountains 6
9. Mions Hill 6

Lp 3: Bloody Countess
1. Splatter
2. Bring me the Head of Satan
3. Bloody Countess
4. Panic in the Head
5. Poison Child
6. Madara No Tamago
7. Children of Hell
8. Kanashibari
9. Bloody Countess

Lp 4: Envenom Rough Mix
1. Satan Bless You
2. Reek of Cremation
3. Devil Worship
4. Eviler
5. Deathtemptation
6. The Sixth Candle
7. King of Hell
8. Carcassvoice
9. Dead March
10. Evil Nations

Lp 5: Asai Cleaning 2F Rehearsal
1. Welcome to Sabbat
2. Panic in the Head
3. Bring me the Head of Satan
4. Wolfman
5. Children of Hell
6. Black Fire
7. Mions Hill
8. Headbanging
9. C.D.E.
10. C.D.E. (Take 2)
11. Welcome to Sabbat

Lp 6: Unreleased and Alternate Takes
1. Headbanging (Version 1 Mix 4) 7
2. Headbanging (Version 2 Mix 2) 7
3. Madara No Tamago (Mix 3) 7
4. Kanashibari 7
5. Satan Bless You (Mix 2) 8
6. Evil Nations (Fade Out) 8
7. Satan Bless You (Fade Out) 8
8. Lady Lust 9
9. Welcome to Hell 9
10. Panic in the Head 9

Lp 7: Hot Rod – The Kuwana City Tapes
1. Iron Maiden
2. Sanctuary
3. Prowler
4. Remember Tomorrow
5. Another Life
6. Killers
8. Prowler
9. Transilvania
10. Iron Maiden
11. Sanctuary

Lp 8: Evil – Welcome to Sabbat
1. Black Metal
2. To Hell and Back
3. Countess Bathory
4. Sacrifice
5. Welcome to Hell
6. In League With Satan

Lp 9: SK Hall Rehearsals
1. Panic in the Head
2. Kanashibari
3. Immortality of the Soul
4. Splatter
5. Welcome to Sabbat
6. Immortality of the Soul – Sound Check
7. Panic in the Head
8. Splatter
9. Kanashibari

Lp 10: Death Live Geion June 8th 1986
1. Opening
2. Welcome to Sabbat
3. Splatter
4. Bloody Countess
5. Intro of C.O.H.
6. Kanashibari
7. Black Fire
8. Mions Hill

Dvd listing:
Dvd 1:
Line Up: Gezol (B,Vo), Elizaveat (G), Ozny (G), Samm (Dr)
1. Kanashibari–live Yokkaichi Culture Hall, Mie – 11th May 1986
2. Black Fire-Yokkaichi Culture Hall, Mie – 11th May 1986
3. Mions Hill-Yokkaichi Culture Hall, Mie – 11th May 1986
4. Black Fire-live Nagoya Castle, Nagoya – 3rd August 1986
5. Satanic Rites – Crest of Satan-live Huck Finn, Nagoya – 2nd May 1989
6. Darkness and Evil-live Huck Finn, Nagoya – 2nd May 1989
7. Kanashibari-live Huck Finn, Nagoya – 2nd May 1989
8. Black Fire-live Huck Finn, Nagoya – 2nd May 1989

Dvd 2: live at Yanta Rockmaykan, Osaka – 5th April 1987
1. Intro
2. Satanic Rites – Curdle the Blood
3. Poisonchild
4. Long Way to the Beyond
5. Crest of Satan
6. Welcome to Hell
7. Mions Hill
8. Immortality of the Soul
9. Black Fire

Additional Information


Nuclear War Now Records

Catalogue Number

Release Year