Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Savatage –Fight For The Rock lp/10″ [white]


In stock

SKU: lp 539co Categories: , ,


2021 remastered white vinyl with gatefold cover and a bonus 10” single with three rare demo tracks.

The fourth Sava-album Fight For The Rock was a blatant attempt at commercial success. The result was an album that seemed like a pale imitation of Van Halen. Even the band have pretty much disowned this one. The title track is a decent enough metal anthem, but the mellow Badfinger cover, Day After Day is a definite mis-step and Out On Streets sounded much better on the raw version that appeared on Sirens. The rest of the record is not as much bad as it is simply bland and uninspired arena metal. Released in 1986, it is largely regarded as the band’s worst ever release by both fans and band members alike, with the band referring to it as Fight For The Nightmare. Jon Oliva even said in October 1994, I’ve never really been fond of that album. {pauses} WE’VE never been fond of that album. The band said that they were driven to make the record by their label, Atlantic Records, particularly after the band’s lead vocalist Jon Oliva began writing pop-rock songs for other artists on the label such as John Waite. However, the label eventually turned around and told the band to record the music that Jon had written for other artists themselves. This destroyed the band’s credibility in the eyes of the press and reviews were not kind to the band. It not only destroyed the band’s image, but the negative critical reaction has been cited as a cause of Jon Oliva’s bout of drug and alcohol depression which eventually drove him from the fore of the band. Atlantic also wanted the band to have photos taken of the band since none of their previous releases had any included. The band hired a friend to do the photography work, one of the photos, featuring the band re-recreating the famous photo Raising the Flag on Iwo Jima. The band agreed this was a good idea at the time, but look back with the same feelings on the photos taken as they do the album. The album did mark the debut of the band’s new bassist, Johnny Lee Middleton, who would be the only member of the group to officially appear as a member on the rest of their work. Thankfully, the band would rethink their musical approach after this record.

Track list:
1. Fight For The Rock
2. Out On The Streets
3. Crying For Love
4. Day After Day
5. The Edge Of Midnight
6. Hyde
7. Lady In Disguise
8. She’s Only Rock n’ Roll
9. Wishing Well
10. Red Light Paradise
11. The Dungeons Are Calling-live
12. City Beneath The Surface-live

10 track list: Bearsville Demos
1. Fighting For Love (In The Dream)
2. Washed Out
3. Stuck On You

Additional information


Ear Music Records

Release Year


Catalogue Number