Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Saxon -Carpe Diem lp [marbled]


In stock

SKU: LP 537ca Categories: , , Tag:


Nordic version on red and black marbled vinyl with gatefold cover

So far, Saxon’s industrious career in metal has essentially unfolded in three stages. In the first of these they released eight albums of note, between 1979 and 1986. The first five in particular were awash with enduring gems such as Wheels Of Steel, Princess Of The Night, 20,000 Feet and Strong Arm Of The Law. Then came the ninth, 1988’s Destiny, a soft-boiled misstep that sounded very much like the band’s last-ditch attempt to sell enough records to appease their label EMI, shortly before they were dropped. We’ve been in Stage Three ever since, with Biff Byford and co. presumably abandoning any dreams they might have of Beverly Hills mansions, and instead reveling in the brute force of traditional heavy metal, plus the major consolation prize of everlasting respect over riches. Brilliantly, their approach during two decades when all around them was grunge and alt.rock was to keep calm and carry on, unapologetically firing off snub-nosed salvos like Unleash The Beast (1997), Metalhead (1999) and Killing Ground (2001). Their routine has changed little since, and clearly not even a global pandemic could stop them from recording another studio record. Carpe Diem is very Saxon business as usual. The album is produced every bit as sharply as you’d expect by Andy Sneap, and the mid-paced bludgeon of Age Of Steam, the blisteringly fast Super Nova and the unusual Black Is The Night steal top honors. As was the case with Motorhead, there’s genuine pleasure to be had in knowing what to expect from salty sea dogs like these. And besides, in a world that feels increasingly unstable, it might have been too much to bear if Saxon had suddenly gone emo. True metalhead? Then you need this one.

Track list:
1. Carpe Diem (Seize The Day)
2. Age Of Steam
3. The Pilgrimage
4. Dambusters
5. Remember The Fallen
6. Super Nova
7. Lady In Grey
8. All For One
9. Black Is The Night
10. Living On The Limit

Additional information


Silver Lining Music

Catalogue Number

Release Year