Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Sepultura -Machine Messiah dlp [bi-coloured]


In stock

SKU: lp 546av Categories: , ,


Double album on bi-coloured blue and light blue vinyls with gatefold. Limited 500 copies

Sepultura’s 14th studio album, ‘Machine Messiah’, was produced by Jens Borgen (Opeth, Amon Amarth). From the brooding tone of the opening title track, it seems that Sepultura are surfing a creative streak on ‘Machine Messiah’. Beyond that the full-on thrash assault of ‘I Am The Enemy’, the eastern-tinged aggression of ‘Phantom Self’ and the jaw-dropping instrumental ‘Iceberg Dances’, help to round out the band’s most rounded release since the mid-90’s. Style wise, it’s something of a throwback to their 80’s thrash sound mashed in with the groove/death/tribal elements that have been used since; which is to say it picks up where Kairos and A-Lex left off, and is something of a significant improvement on the measured noise style of The Mediator. The songs that were released as single’s are top notch, and display both sides of this collection. They’re really worth a listen on Youtube for anyone interested on seeing what Sepultura has left in the tank. I Am The Enemy showcasing this band can still cut it with the so-called big 4 of Thrash and Phantom Self showing the more creepy and atmospheric side, without losing any of the punch. Machine Messiah is easily up there with the best music the band have produced since Max’s departure and showcases a band that finally has an a direction, song-writing-wise, that fits with their identity as the thrash band that experiment with rhythms and tribal sounds. Whilst possibly not quite as good as the classic era of the band, there is enough here to please the long term fans, but also enough surprises and a strong enough collection of genuinely great metal music to warrant a listen even from the strongest Cavalera supporters. As someone who has willed them to make another great album for such a long time (as they have some of my absolute favourite songs to their name) it feels like they have finally climbed their Everest and have crept out from under the Cavalera shadow, and the result is something that just might be looked backed on as the jewel in the post-Max crown.

Track list:
1. Machine Messiah
2. I Am The Enemy
3. Phantom Self
4. Alethea
5. Iceberg Dances
6. Sworn Oath
7. Resistant Parasites
8. Silent Violence
9. Vandals Nest
10. Cyber God
11. Chosen Skin
12. Ultraseven No Uta

Additional information


Nuclear blast records

Catalogue Number

NB 3640-1

Release Year