Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Skyclad -Prince Of The Poverty Line dlp/10″ [purple]


Out of stock

SKU: lp 539aqq Categories: , ,


Double album on purple vinyls with gatefold cover and one 3-track bonus 10″ on clear vinyl

One of Skyclad’s strongest efforts, 1994’s ‘Prince Of The Poverty Line’ saw Britain’s leading pagan-thrash-folkers flying at maximum broom-warp thanks to the now symbiotic songwriting partnership between enigmatic vocalist Martin Walkyier and guitarist Steve Ramsey. Album highlights such as the requisite energetic opener, ‘Civil War Dance’, the violin-infused, metallic quasi-jig ‘Sins Of Emission’, and the stunning, even more fiddle-dependent power ballad ‘The One Piece Puzzle’ all attain the highest creative caliber with unprecedentedly fluid proportions — yet do so without breaking away from previously established Skyclad modes. So fluid and familiar, in fact, that it almost goes unnoticed that longtime violinist Fritha Jenkins had been replaced by one Catherine Howell (who would herself be gone within the year), or that these tracks were still, in essence, very odd, bizarre, and original. As usual, though, it’s Walkyier’s lyrics taking the cake in this regard. As has become an inimitable trademark over the years, his inscrutable tales of fantasy, feigned (or real) insanity, and even silly humor are spun into surprisingly topical and realistic dissertations, if one actually takes the time to dissect them. As for other mentionable moments, there’s the added keyboard layers embellishing standout tracks ‘Cardboard City’ and ‘Land of the Rising Slum’, an unexpected choral backdrop contrasting nicely with the hard-charging ‘Gammadion Seed’, and, with Ramsey and fellow six-stringer Dave Pugh holding court, there’s not a wasteful guitar solo in sight. Simply put, one of Skyclad’s best.

Track listing:
1. Civil War Dance
2. Cardboard City
3. Sins Of Emission
4. Land Of The Rising Slum
5. The One Piece Puzzle
6. A Bellyful Of Emptyness
7. A Dog In The Manger
8. Gammadion Seed
9. Womb Of The Worm
10. The Truth Famine
11. Brothers Beneath The Skin
12. Widdershins Jig-live
13. Cradle Will Fall-live

Additional information


BMG Records / Noise Records

Catalogue Number


Release Year