Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

The Smiths ‎–Wilde About The Smiths cd


Out of stock

SKU: Cd 49g Categories: , , Tags: ,


The Smiths were the definitive British indie rock band of the ’80s, marking the end of synth-driven new wave and the beginning of the guitar rock that dominated English rock into the ’90s. Sonically, the group was indebted to the British Invasion, crafting ringing, melodic three-minute pop singles, even for their album tracks. But their scope was far broader than that of a revivalist band. The group’s core members, vocalist Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr, were obsessive rock fans inspired by the D.I.Y. ethics of punk, but they also had a fondness for girl groups, pop, and rockabilly. Morrissey and Marr also represented one of the strangest teams of collaborators in rock history. Marr was the rock traditionalist, looking like an elegant version of Keith Richards during the Smiths’ heyday and meticulously layering his guitar tracks in the studio. Morrissey, on the other hand, broke from rock tradition by singing in a keening, self-absorbed croon, embracing the forlorn, romantic poetry of Oscar Wilde, publicly declaring his celibacy, and making no secret of his disgust for most of his peers. While it eventually led to the Smiths’ early demise, the friction between Morrissey and Marr resulted in a flurry of singles and albums over the course of three years that provided the blueprint for British guitar rock in the following decade. “Wilde About The Smiths” collects 20 rare tracks recorded between 1983 and 1987. Among the early rarities we have “Miserable Lie” from a Peel Session recorded in June of 1983 and “Hand In Glove” which is the earliest known live recording with the band, taped at Manchester on the 4th of February 1983. Among the later material we have “The Queen Is Dead” recorded live at The Smithts last ever concert which took place at The Brixton Academy on the 12th of December 1986 and “Sheila Take A Bow” which was The Smiths last ever TV appearance which took place at The Tube on the 10th of April 1987. But most tracks on this collection are rare and hard to find recordings whcih makes this a must have for fans of the band. Comes in a cool digipack cover

Track list:
1. Hand In Glove-live Manchester U.K. 4th of February 1983
2. Panic-The Eurotube 10th of April1987
3. Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now-The Eldorado Club,Paris 9th of May 1984
4. Miserable Lie-John Peel Session 1st of June1983
5. How Soon Is Now-Alternate version from Italian 12 single
6. I Don’t Owe You Anything-Sandie Shaw on Radio 1’s Saturday Live 14th of April1984
7. Hand In Glove-Alternative Mixes from the 1983 Tony Trade Sessions
8. Vicar In A Tutu-Whistle Test 20th of May 1986
9. Meat Is Murder-Paseo De Camoeons Madrid 5th of May 1985
10. This Night Has Opened My Eyes-TV Session performed on Y.E.S. 9th of February1984
11. Accept Yourself-Birmingham Fighting Cocks 3rd of June1983
12. Sheila Take A Bow-The Tube 10th of April 1987
13. The Queen Is Dead-The Brixton Academy 12th of December 1986
14. Still Ill-The Tube 16th of March 1984
15. Girl Afraid-Glasgow, Scotland 2nd of March 1984
16. Barbarism Begins At Home-Markthalle Hamburg, Germany 4th of June 1984
17. This Charming Man-Derby U.K. 7th of December 1983
18. Jeane-Johnny and Sandie Shaw Live On Splat April 1984
19. I Know It’s Over-Los Angeles, California U.S. 28th of August 1986
20. Still Ill/ This Charming Man/ Hand In Glove-excerpts from Datarun 7th of April 1984

Additional information


Smiths Records

Catalogue Number