Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Snakebyte –Venomous cd


In stock

SKU: Cd 221e Categories: , ,


2014 cd release with 10 bonus tracks

In the early 80’s, Snakebyte slithered its way into a burgeoning southern California rock scene and invenomated a vibrant rock crowd in ways that many of their counterparts could only dream of. Snakebyte came about just like many other bands of the era had via numerous incarnations until settling on a version that just felt right. The earliest version of the band started out going by the moniker Mayhem – the year was 1981. Stu Milner, brother of bassist Andy Milner later suggested the band name be changed to Snakebite, and their father fore-seeing the computer age suggested the name be adapted to Snakebyte and with that change the band had planted its seed. Wally Passet was a very well-known and accomplished local super talent from the 70’s and 80’s, who had mastered not only a unique vocal style but was also recognized as quite the guitar phenomenon. He had performed with Neptune (1976-1979) and Blackstar (1979-1983). Vibeing off the high energy that the original 3 piece version of Snakebyte delivered, Wally agreed to join the band add his unique vocal styling and killer guitar riffs; Snakebyte had found a line-up that would reign supreme for years to come. In 1983 they started to record tracks for their first album. Everyone in the band was very in tune with the magic that they created when the four members played together. They honed their skills practicing and writing new material on a daily basis and they were actually able to compile a song list of over 100 rocking, bluesy, progressive hard rock/metal songs. Snakebyte had a staggered and diverse list of influences from Stevie Wonder to Kiss to Ozzy to Hendrix, Zeppelin, Bad Company, AC/DC, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Foreigner, Starship, Aerosmith, Van Halen, David Lee Roth, Yngwie Malmsteen, Satriani and Blood Sweat and Tears to name a few. While they gladly paid homage to their influences, these four young lads were creating a style (and a buzz) unique unto themselves. In early 1986, the band released straight to vinyl, their one and only self-titled official release (until this 2013 expanded release). Due to the strength and reach of their debut release, Snakebyte was nominated for an L.A Rocks award and was picked as one of the top twelve up-and-coming bands in the U.S. This caused the major labels to start taking interest in the band – recognizing their musical talent and explosive fist-pumping live shows. Waiting for their big break (which would never come), each of the band members continued to work hard at their craft but early in 1987, Snakebyte broke up over the regular stuff that you regularly hear about. Whether it was band infighting or creative differences, or even just band members going in new directions – the venom was poisonous and the group could never get back on track. For a bright shining moment in the mid 80’s, Snakebyte rivaled the talent of any of their counterparts and luminaries, and gained the respect of the industry and fans alike.

Track list:
1. All Your Luv
2. Mama Please
3. Over And Over Again
4. Like A Knife In The Back
5. Shes A Witch
6. La Paloma
7. Hot Lava
8. Fear The Devil
9. Moon Child
10. D-Street
11. The Investigator
12. Death At Moonlight
13. No Second Opinion
14. Baseball
15. Mama Please
16. Snakebyte

Additional information


FnA Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number