Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Sodom ‎–Genesis XIX box


In stock


Box set with double album on splatter vinyls, digi cd, poster, flag, slipmat, mask, patch, signed photocard. Limited 2000 copies

Following the first relaxation of the lockdown rules stemming from the 2020 pandemic, Sodom immediately returned to working creatively, which is one of the reasons why Genesis XIX has turned into precisely what the musicians had in mind. This is definitely one of the toughest and most diverse studio recordings that Sodom have ever released, notes Angelripper. Our riff suppliers, Yorck and Frank, are totally different types of musicians. Yorck is a died-in-the-wool metalhead who grew up with thrash music. Frank, on the other hand, also integrates blues and rock elements into his style, including the occasional Frank Marino or Rory Gallagher quotation, and writes songs that could have featured in the same or a similar way on Agent Orange. These are the diverse influences that make Genesis XIX what it is. We were largely autonomous during the production of Genesis XIX and were free not only to concentrate on working on new songs but also to come up with the right sounds. That was important because we use neither digital amps nor plug-ins but played all the guitar parts using proper Marshall tube amps. From unadulterated thrash metal tracks Euthanasia, Dehumanized and Friendly Fire to off-the-grid numbers such as Occult Perpetrator, Sodom delivers a wide range of facets of their signature sound. This inventiveness also applies to the lyrics on Genesis XIX, with Angelripper presenting, as usual, his very own range of subjects: The Harpooneer is based on Melville’s Moby Dick novel featuring the obsessive Captain Ahab, Glock N’ Roll is the story of a serial killer, Waldo and Pigpen is an homage to the same-named U.S. fighter pilots, whose radio traffic during their mission in Vietnam has survived, and Nicht Mehr Mein Land describes the condition of western society. Tom: We’re the very first to combine real thrash music with German lyrics. Naturally, thrash metal stories need to be martial, but we never intend them to be nasty or disrespectful, he stresses, explaining his lyrical approach: I simply sing about things that weigh on my mind. A thrash metal recipe for success in true Sodom style!

Track list:
1. Blind Superstition
2. Sodom And Gomorrah
3. Euthanasia
4. Genesis XIX
5. Nicht Mehr Mein Land
6. Glock N Roll
7. The Harponeer
8. Dehumanized
9. Occult Perpetrator
10. Waldo And Pigpen
11. Indoctrination
12. Friendly Fire

Additional information


Spv/Steamhammer Records

Release Year