Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

The Bevis Frond ‎–New River Head dcd


Out of stock

SKU: cd 106a Categories: , ,


2016 re-issue as double cd with 9 bonus tracks in cardsleeve

Though Nick Saloman can never be said to necessarily, or at least obviously, progress from release to release, he does have a knack for ensuring that each Bevis Frond album has something interesting. It’s when he puts everything together to create a consistently strong record that notice is due, and Frond’s 1991 effort stands out in that regard. His slightly mournful, weary vocals remain unchanged, as does the general feeling of pop/psych-rock with jamming tendencies. The core duo of Martin Crowley on drums and Saloman on everything else also continues, supplemented by a variety of guest performers. There’s just that little something more here, though, that marks New River Head as a good starting point for anyone interesting in discovering more about the Frond. The first couple of songs are mostly Saloman-by-the-numbers, but then he hits a great winning streak, starting with “Waving,” a gentle folk ballad which adds a violin for an effect that’s just melancholy enough and results in an honestly heart-catching little track. Following that is the title song, a strong feedback crunch that welds Saloman’s ear for a good hook with his considerable playing abilities well. The disc continues in the same, fine general vein from that point on, ranging from the Byrds-inflected guitar chime of “He’d Be a Diamond” to the soft, then shroomy, head-nodding “Stain on the Sun.” The standout is “The Miskatonic Variations II,” a nearly 17-minute ambient-to-full-blown-noise jam recorded with a guest bassist, guitarist, and sax player, not to mention Current 93’s lead figure, David Tibet, adding some chants on top of it all. Throw in a variety of other niceties here and there, like the brief garage-rock blasts “Undertaker” and “Chinese Burn,” and New River Head winds up being a slice of Frond at his high-powered best.

Track list:
1. Intro
2. White Sun
3. Drowned
4. She’s Entitled To
5. Waving
6. Down In The Well
7. New River Head
8. Solar Marmalade
9. Wild Jack Hammer
10. He’d Be A Diamond
11. Undertaker
12. Stain On The Sun
13. It Won’t Come Again
14. Blurred Vision
15. Son Of Many Mothers
16. God Speed You To Earth
17. Motherdust
18. Cuvie
19. Chinese Burn
20. Thankless Task
21. The Miskatonic Variations II
22. Snow
23. My Little Empire
24. Cracked Universe
25. Stain On The Sun-demo
26. Ageing Freak
27. Drowned-demo
28. Son Of Many Mothers
29. Heavy On You
30. High In A Flat

Additional information


Fire America Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number