Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

The Bevis Frond ‎–Superseeder cd


Out of stock

SKU: cd 224m Categories: , ,


2016 re-issue in digipak

“Another year, another album” yawn the liner notes of 1995’s Superseeder, a hint that perhaps Nick Saloman was growing tired of the Bevis Frond’s work schedule. There’s little hint of that on the album itself, though; from the spiralling, Eastern-influenced opener “Superceded” onwards, this is one of the Bevis Frond’s strongest collections. Recorded with the rhythm section of Adrian Shaw and Andy Ward (guest Bari Watts adds a second lead guitar to two tracks, most notably the wild “I Can’t Cry”), Superseeder marks a temporary return to the sort of extended raga-like acid rock workout that typified early Bevis Frond releases; the difference is that with a proper rhythm section pushing things along instead of Saloman overdubbing himself on various instruments, there’s a much greater sense of interplay on tracks like the nearly 17-minute workout “House of Mountains.” The album’s high point is the hilarious “Sue Me,” with Saloman singing mocking lines about being “the most psychedelic-est of them all” to a backing track that could fit on Electric Ladyland. The garage-punky “Dolly Bug,” one of Saloman’s most concise pop songs, is another goody, but really, the whole album is excellent.

Track list:
1. Superseded
2. Dolly Bug
3. Stoned Train Driver
4. Animal Tracks
5. Jaye
6. I Can’t Cry
7. Could Be
8. Flashy
9. Golden Walks Of London
10. House Of Mountains
11. The Queen Of May
12. Sue Me
13. Loveland
14. Could You Fly Higher?

Additional information


Fire America Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number