Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

The Bevis Frond ‎–The Auntie Winnie Album dcd


Out of stock

SKU: Cd 43k Categories: , ,


Double cd in digipak cover with 6 tracks not on the vinyl version

A companion piece to 1987’s Bevis Through The Looking Glass, 1989’s Auntie Winnie Album effectively ends Nick Saloman’s career as a one-man-band making D.I.Y. records on a bedroom four-track. (Beginning with 1990’s excellent Any Gas Faster, subsequent Bevis Frond records would be recorded in real studios with other musicians.) Like the earlier compilation, this set pulls together outtakes and extra tracks from Saloman’s early days. Oddly, however, the overall quality of these tracks is much higher than on the earlier set, and the album actually hangs together quite well as a whole. Opening and closing with extended instrumentals, the grinding acid rock of “Malvolio’s Dream Journey to Pikes” and the lyrical and lovely “City of the Sun,” the album covers a lot of ground in between. Most of the album is devoted to proper three-minute pop songs, ranging from the dark-hued “Will to Lose” (one of Saloman’s most personal-sounding tunes) to the almost bouncy, Kinks-like “Repressor.”

Track list:
1. Malvolio’s Dream Journey To Pikes
2. Foreign Laugh
3. Down Again
4. Will To Lose
5. Repressor
6. Winter’s Blues
7. The Miz-Maze
8. Close
9. Without Mind
10. City Of The Sun
11. 99th Very Last Time
12. Five Years Wide
13. Big Hole
14. Time She Loves
15. I Love You For Your Mind
16. Traction
17. Long Day
18. Twice Torn, Once Forgotten
19. Spa Hotel
20. Visions Through Dilated Eyes
21. African Violet
22. Hillview
23. Automatic Bomb Virgins
24. Possession
25. Death Trip

Additional information


Fire America Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number