Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

The Black Crowes ‎–Shake Your Money Maker 4lp box


In stock

Categories: , ,


2021 30th anniversary box set with 4 lps, 3 never-before-heard studio recordings; 2 unreleased demos from the band’s early incarnation as Mr. Crowe’s Garden; B-sides; a spectacular, high-energy 14-song unreleased concert recorded in their hometown of Atlanta, GA in December 1990; reproductions of an early Mr. Crowe’s Garden show flyer, setlist and tour laminate; a Crowes patch; and a 20-page book with liner notes by David Fricke

The Black Crowes debut album, ‘Shake Your Money Maker’, may borrow heavily from the bluesy hard rock grooves of the Rolling Stones and Faces (plus a bit of classic soul), but the band gets away with it due to sharp songwriting and an ear for strong riffs and chorus melodies, not to mention the gritty, muscular rhythm guitar of Rich Robinson and brother Chris appropriate vocal swagger. Unlike their later records, the Crowes don’t really stretch out and jam that much on Money Maker, but that helps distill their virtues into a handful of memorable singles (‘Jealous Again’, ‘She Talks to Angels’, a cover of Otis Redding’s ‘Hard to Handle’), and most of the album tracks maintain an equally high standard. Shake Your Money Maker may not be stunningly original, but it doesn’t need to be; it’s the most concise demonstration of the fact that the Black Crowes are a great, classic rock & roll band.

Track list:
1. Twice As Hard
2. Jealous Again
3. Sister Luck
4. Could I’ve Been So Blind
5. Seeing Things
6. Hard To Handle-Otis Redding cover
7. Thick N Thin
8. She Talks To Angels
9. Struttin Blues
10. Stare It Cold
11. Mercy Sweat Moan
12. Charming Mess
13. 30 Days In The Hole
14. Don’t Wake Me
15. Jealous Guy
16. Waitin Guilty
17. Hard To Handle
18. Jealous Again-acoustic version
19. She Talks To Angels-acoustic version
20. She Talks To Angels-Mr Crowes Garden demo
21. Front Porch Sermon-Mr Crowes Garden demo
22. Introduction-live Atlanta December 1990
23. Thick N’ Thin-live Atlanta December 1990
24. You’re Wrong-live Atlanta December 1990
25. Twice As Hard-live Atlanta December 1990
26. Could I’ve Been So Blind-live Atlanta December 1990
27. Seeing Things-live Atlanta December 1990
28. She Talks To Angels-live Atlanta December 1990
29. Sister Luck-live Atlanta December 1990
30. Hard To Handle-live Atlanta December 1990
31. Shake ‘Em On Down / Get Back-live Atlanta December 1990
32. Struttin’ Blues-live Atlanta December 1990
33. Words You Throw Away-live Atlanta December 1990
34. Stare It Cold-live Atlanta December 1990
35. Jealous Again-live Atlanta December 1990

Additional information


Universal Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number