Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Toxaemia -Buried To Rise 1990-1991 dlp


Out of stock

SKU: Lp 544fl Categories: , ,


Double album on black vinyls with gatefold cover and poster. Limited 200 copies

After 20 years, Toxaemia’s complete material is finally released on an album. During their tenure from 1989 to 1991, Toxaemia released two demos (Kaleidoscopic Lunacy and Buried to Rot) and one classic 7″ on Seraphic Decay titled Beyond the Realm. This recording later appeared on the Seraphic Decay cd sampler, the only time Toxaemia’s material appeared on cd…until now! Old school Swedish death metal pundits have been spoiled in the past few years by a great number of compilations that gather out of print demos, EPs and albums into cohesive, single packages available at a reasonable fare. Well, like the treatments given to Gorement, Crematory, Interment, or the early works of Evocation, Buried to Rise goes above and beyond to give you the full money on the little known Motala act Toxaemia, a band that operated for only a few years to produce some truly grimy death metal, more of old school Entombed and Grave with a touch of Dutch bands like Pestilence and Asphyx. These guys were not writing university textbooks here, just good old disgusting death metal with a lot more character than complexity. Both of the band’s demos, Kaleidoscopic Lunacy (1990) and Buried to Rot (1991) are included, plus the Beyond the Realm EP (1990) and some loose bits. The kicker here is that they are all given to you twice, once in their original incarnation and then once again with a Dan Swano remix/remaster disc. I’m going to have to go with the newer mix, if only because it manages to snare the original contrast of the dark, bludgeoning tones to a new height, and its simply more audible. But having both is quite the testament to authenticity, so curmudgeons and purists will have nothing to complain about. From a production standpoint, the Buried to Rot demo sounds the most balanced and potent, and this too features a few of the better songs, in the crushing “Tragedies Through Centuries” and title track, but I think the EP is the top choice. There are a few different versions of the track “Crematorium”, of which the 1991 is clearly the better choice. Toxaemia were hardly innovators of their style, they simply took some brutal US influence, flavoured it in a little of that home brewed, thick tone and wrote some crude yet effective material that would have been ripe for a mosh pit. But it’s certainly authentic feeling, without the added burden of nostalgic intent. Nothing here would have qualified for a Left Hand Path, Indecent & Obscene or a You’ll Never See…, but it does the trick if you’re honing your ears into primal, morbid chaos. That it arrives with such completeness is only a bonus. Own this, and you own all the pride and joy of a young band in several years of dark dedication.

Track listing:
1. Terminated Violence-from the Kaleidoscopic Lunacy demo 1989
2. Dark Wisdom-from the Kaleidoscopic Lunacy demo 1989
3. Crematorium-from the Kaleidoscopic Lunacy demo 1989
4. Evil Rage-from the Kaleidoscopic Lunacy demo 1989
5. The Acquisition-from Ratt I Orat compilation 1990
6. Beyond The Realm-from Beyond The Realm EP 1990
7. Another Lie, Another Death-from Beyond The Realm EP 1990
8. Who Dies-from Beyond The Realm EP 1990
9. Expired Christianity-from Beyond The Realm EP 1990
10. World Graveyard-from Buried To Rot demo 1991
11. Tragedies Through Centuries-from Buried To Rot demo 1991
12. Hate Within-from Buried To Rot demo 1991
13. The Beginning Of The End-from Buried To Rot demo 1991
14. Buried To Rot-from Buried To Rot demo 1991
15. Crematorium-unreleased from the Buried To Rot session 1991
16. Kaleidoscopic Lunacy-unreleased from the Buried To Rot session 1991
17. Immolation Of Justice-unreleased from the Buried To Rot session 1991
18. Force Of Plague-unreleased track from Kaleidoscopic Lunacy session 1989

Additional information


The Crypt

Catalogue Number

Release Year