Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Twisted Sister -Double Live Northstage 82 And Ny Steel 01 2dvd


Out of stock

SKU: Dvd 31a Categories: ,


Double dvd

Twisted sister is a band that was not really understood to the many whom only new them for their ‘hits’. However to the many S.M.F.s around the world, Twisted is a kick ass rock & roll maniac in a live setting. Even their studio albums do not capture the band well. This dvd is an excellent portrayal of the band in two completely different stages of its existence. ‘Double Live’ begins before the band was international superstars. Their 90 minute show at the North Stage Theater in Long Island would be considered by many to be their “farewell”–from the club/bar scene, that is. The group was scheduled to head off to Europe shortly thereafter and record their first LP (1982’s Under the Blade). Honed to perfection and sonically skin tight, this version of Sister was a true music machine, even if only the most devoted fan would recognize the set list. Absent are later mega-hits like “We’re Not Gonna Take It” and “I Wanna Rock.” In their place are cover versions of “Leader of the Pack” (always a weird selection for Snider and the boys) and the Rolling Stones “It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It).” Along the way, we get terrific takes on “What You Don’t Know (Sure Can Hurt You),” “Bad Boys of Rock ‘n’ Roll,,” “Shoot ’em Down” and “You Can’t Stop Rock ‘n’ Roll,” among others. Aficionados will really enjoy rarities like “Lady’s Boy” and “Destroyer”. Following the terrible events of September 11, 2001, Twisted Sisters classic line-up reunited to headline the New York Steel benefit show at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City on November 28 that year. The concert was a fundraiser for the families of New York police officers and fire fighters who had lost their lives in the attack on the World Trade Center. The reaction to Twisted Sisters set was overwhelming and led directly to the ongoing existence of the band today. As for the overall presentation here, the dvds are quite good. North Stage is presented in a 1.33:1 full screen image that is clean, clear, if slightly muddled at times. Remember, this was recorded before video became a solid HD medium. We are getting an upgraded camcorder showcase, nothing more or less. Still, it looks great. So does the 1.79:1 anamorphic transfer offered for New York Steel. While the stage set-up is sparse (no large light show, no pyrotechnics) and the visuals less than flattering, the presentation element matches the music–lean, mean, and more than acceptable. We get interview documentaries accompanying each show, the band today discussing the particulars of each gig in an open and honest Behind the Music kind of confessional. There is also a stills gallery accompanying the New York Steel show. As a scrapbook of a band slowly re-establishing its classicism, Double Live is direct and delightful. Here is a chance to see Twisted Sister before they became a gaudy roadshow, and after they let fame fracture their brotherhood. A band as good as this deserves such a memento from their past. Luckily, their present seems destined for just as many accolades. If you’re a true SMF and love the early TS stuff (and you aren’t just hanging around to hear “We’re Not Gonna Take It” and “I Wanna Rock”), buy this dvd now!

Track listi:
Disc 1: Live Northstage Theatre 1982
1. What You Don’t Know (Sure Can Hurt You)
2. Destroyer
3. Tear it Loose
4. Bad Boys (Of Rock ‘n’ Roll)
5. Lady’s Boy
6. Leader of the Pack
7. Under the Blade
8. Shoot ‘Em Down
9. Sin After Sin
10. I’ll Never Grow Up, Now
11. You Can’t Stop Rock ‘n’ Roll
12. You Know I Cry
13. It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll
14. Rock ‘n’ Roll Saviors

Disc 2: New York Steel Benefit show 2001
1. What You Don’t Know (Sure Can Hurt You)
2. The Kids Are Back
3. Stay Hungry
4. Burn in Hell
5. You Can’t Stop Rock ‘n’ Roll
6. Under the Blade
7. Shoot ‘Em Down
8. Come Back
9. You Know I Cry
10. I Wanna Rock
11. Were Not Gonna Take It
12. The Price
13. SMF

Additional information


Eagle Vision

Release Year

Catalogue Number