Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Ultra-Violence -Deflect The Flow lp [yellow]


In stock

SKU: Lp 506bs Categories: , ,


Yellow vinyl with lyric insert. Limited to 250 hand numbered copies

Enter Ultra-Violence, a young thrash metal band hailing from Turin, Italy. Drawing heavy inspiration from Anthony Burgess’ 1962 literary classic, “A Clockwork Orange”, Ultra-Violence packs all of the chaos, angst, and rebellious nature of Alex and his droogs into “Deflect The Flow”, the band’s second offering. Singer and guitar player Loris Castiglia, described the novel as being “perfect for our thrash metal soundtrack.” Surprisingly, not one song on the album is actually about the novel. Castiglia explained, “We admire ‘A Clockwork Orange’ but never wrote a song about it. Using the droogs and taking our band name from the novel is just a perfect representation of the music.” “Deflect The Flow” contains everything you could possibly want from a metal album. By the end of the first three tracks you’ll already have broken out into a self-contained mosh pit, danced and sang alongside devilish bass lines, and felt the thunderous riffs and pounding drums of “Gavel’s Bang” at your core. A cover of Venom’s “Don’t Burn The Witch” just sweetens this particular glass of “milk-plus” and does more than honour the original work. Particularly surprising was the interlude, “A Second Birth”, which boasts a beautiful orchestral arrangement. For an album that is extremely long by thrash metal terms (52:35), it suffers from bouts of repetitiveness which affect the overall mood of the album, but only slightly. By the end of the album, if your spine still functions correctly, you’ll have heard mosh-inciting riffs, gang vocals that put Hatebreed to shame, blistering guitar solos, and the spirit of Alex marching through your conscious. A welcome bonus is the crisp, almost flawless, production and artwork by the legendary Ed Repka who is famous for his work with Megadeth, amongst others. For me, Ultra-Violence’s particular blend of melody, speed, and ruthless aggression is what separates this album from the rest of the current generation of thrash. You can tell a lot of time and effort was put into this record which is reinforced by Castiglia himself who said, “It took us one year to write the album. One thing we don’t do is write songs on tour. If we have a cool riff, we will just keep it in mind or record it.” When asked about how the album was completed, Castiglia explained, “Pre-production recording begins at home. We then bring the demos to the studio which is a great way for us to refine the songs and finish writing easily and efficiently”. “Deflect the Flow” is everything anyone could want from a thrash metal album. A viscous, melodic, assault that out performs many metal bands aesthetically and technically while sticking to the genre’s 80’s roots.

Track list:
1. Burning Through The Scars
2. Why So Serious?
3. Gavels Bang
4. Lost In Decay
5. In The Name Of Your God
6. A Second Birth
7. The Checkered Sun
8. Don’t Burn The Witch-Venom cover
9. The Way I’ll Stay
10. Fractal Dimension

Additional information


Night Of The Vinyl Dead Records

Catalogue Number


Release Year