Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Venom -Demon cd


Out of stock


Limited 500 copies

Venom are not simply a band that invented the name of the black metal genre, they are the utter root of everything that was to come. They brought evil into metal, before there was any Slayer. Black Sabbath invoked Satan as something to be feared, Venom identified with Satan, and a radical change occurred as evil is embraced. Their debut album Demon was recorded at the Impulse Studios on the 29th of April 1980 with Clive Archer (stage name Jesus Christ) on vocals. The sound is raw and pummeling, similar to Motorhead and the most extreme metal of the day. That driving pulse would be adapted by Bathory and others later, along with the imagery and the rawness, although carried even deeper into Hell. Bathory would introduce witchy vocals, but Venom already have a scratchy, growly vocal style that sounds more decidedly evil than the equivalent roughness in Motorhead and the punk scene. Added to this 3-track demo are a bunch of bonus tracks recorded between 1981 and 1984

Track list:
1. Angel Dust-Demon 1980 demo
2. Raise The Dead-Demon 1980 demo
3. Red Light Fever-Demon 1980 demo
4. Welcome To Hell-demo 1981
5. Witching Hour-live ep 1982
6. Bloodlust-live ep 1982
7. Poison-exclusive Metal Hammer version
8. At War With Satan-demo 1983
9. In The Name Of Satan-live Hammersmith Odeon 1984
10. Welcome To Hell-live Hammersmith Odeon 1984
11. Warhead-live Hammersmith Odeon 1984
12. Stand Up And Be Counted-live Hammersmith Odeon 1984

Additional information


Welcome To Hell Records

Catalogue Number


Release Year