Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Vintage Jazz Big Band -Feelin The Spirit cd


In stock

SKU: Cd 105 Categories: , ,


The Vintage Jazz Big Band was formed in Göteborg, Sweden, in 1986. They had all been playing in various traditional jazz bands for many years and they all had an interest in the big band music from the late twenties and early thirties. The major problems the band faced was to get hold of the written arrangements. Vintage jazz – as played by bands like Bennie Moten, Louis Russel, Fletcher Henderson, and Duke Ellington – is available on records, but the music score (if there was one in the first place) is most often not available. Trumpet player, the late Rolf Sundby took on the heavy task of transcribing and arranging most of the music for the band. Several classic vintage jazz arrangements were transcribed from records. In many cases, additions and alterations were made in true vintage style – for instance to feature a soloist – and therefore some of the arrangements are not to be regarded as pure transcriptions. In recent years, trombone player Magnus Bylund and saxophonist Johnny Korner also have contributed some arrangements. Vintage Jazz Big Band plays music both for listening and dancing pleasure. The repertoire even contains some dance numbers from the good old days and also some original compositions by Rolf Sundby. The album Feelin The Spirit was recorded at Bohus Studio in Kungälv on the 13th and 14th of November 1994

Track list:
1. Feelin The Spirit
2. Saratoga Drag
3. I Must Have That Man
4. Original Jelly Roll Blues
5. Ostrich Walk
6. No Papa No
7. Dead Man Blues
8. Market Street Stomp
9. Potato Head Blues
10. When The Saints Go Marching In
11. Anytime, Anyday, Anywhere
12. Christopher Columbus
13. Swanee River
14. Vintage Swing
15. Black And Tan Fantasy
16. C Jam Blues
17. Take The A Train

Additional information


Imogena Records

Catalogue Number

IGCD 061

Release Year