Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Voivod -Forgotten In Space Box [6lp/dvd]


Out of stock


Limited box with 6 lps on coloured vinyls, dvd and book

It’s been an exhilarating 40-year ride for Voivod, the Jonquiere, Quebec quartet that has, over the years, defied the odds, faced tragedy head on and also seen the band rise above many of the contemporaries to a point where the band’s intricate progressively fuelled heavy metal sound also brings with it honours and awards. The 2018 Voivod album, The Wake, won the band a Juno Award for Heavy Metal Album of The Year, while the previous year Away had picked up the Visionary Award at that year’s Progressive Music Awards in London. It might all seem a far cry from four music-obsessed youngsters who began living out their music fantasies in their garages and the basement of one of their father’s work places back in the early 1980’s. But there was always something that set Voivod apart from their peers. They may have been as enthralled with the ever-evolving sounds of heavy metal, hardcore and punk rock that were distilling in the early 80’s, but Voivod also brought with them a love of progressive rock and science fiction that has been as much of an influence on their music. If heavy metal was the sound of the outsider in those early 80’s days, then prog rock was an even more unlikely bedfellow. Prog was about as uncool as you could get. But nobody told Voivod. And it’s that willingness to blend such seemingly disparate sounds that has always set the band apart. Prog metal as a concept was largely unheard of when Voivod released their debut album War And Pain in 1984. The music contained in this set proves that Voivod were very much pioneers of the sound, as their own music became more refined and experimental. You can hear the development of the band’s sound over the three albums contained here (Rrröööaarrr, Killing Technology and Dimension Hatröss). In the five year span from 1984’s War And Pain debut to 1989’s Nothingface, Voivod forged a defiant progressive metal sound that they would expand upon with later albums and ensure that they are one of the most exhilarating metal bands in existence today. Forgotten In Space is a deluxe celebration of Voivod’s, Noise Records discography and is the definitive collection of their recorded work plus rare and previously unreleased material and contains the three Noise albums, Rrröööaarrr, Killing Tenchology and Dimension Hatröss and then No Speed Limit live recording from 1986 and Dimensions Hatröss the demos (both of the two last titles mentioned are here released on vinyl for the first time), Chaosmongers dvd (mini documentary of interviews, live performances, behind the scenes and promotional videos from 1985 to 1989. Also includes previously unreleased video concert, live in Chicago ’88 and audio concert from World War III festival 1985, Cosmic Drama (a 40 page book containing new sleeve note interviews with Michel ‘Away’ Langevin telling the story of the early years of Voivod. Contains rare and previously unseen photos) and last out is Korgull The Exterminator USB (an USB with all the tracks from the expanded studio albums plus the live and demo albums.

Track list:
1. Korgüll The Exterminator
2. Fuck Off And Die
3. Slaughter In A Grave
4. Ripping Headache
5. Horror
6. Thrashing Rage
7. Helldriver
8. Build Your Weapons
9. To The Death

Lp 2: Killing Technology
1. Killing Technology
2. Overreaction
3. Tornado
4. Forgotten In Space
5. Ravenous Medicine
6. Order Of The Blackguards
7. This Is Not An Exercise

Lp 3: Dimension Hatröss
1. Experiment
2. Tribal Convictions
3. Chaosmöngers
4. Technocratic Manipulators
5. Macrosolutions To Megaproblems
6. Brain Scan
7. Psychic Vacuum
8. Cosmic Drama

Lp 4/5: No Speed Limit Weekend ’86
1. Korgüll The Exterminator
2. Ripping Headaches
3. Blower
4. Fuck Off And Die
5. Tornado
6. Iron Gang
7. War And Pain
8. Warrior Of Ice
9. Nuclear War
10. Overreaction
11. The Helldriver
12. Ravenous Medicine
13. Voïvod
14. Thrashing Rage

Lp 6: Dimension Hatröss – The Demos
1. Experiment
2. Tribal Convictions
3. Chaosmongers
4. Technocratic Manipulators
5. Macrosolutions To Megaproblems
6. Brain Scan
7. Psychic Vacuum
8. Cosmic Drama

Additional information


BMG Records / Noise Records

Catalogue Number


Release Year